PDA

View Full Version : 8 GB DSE Thumb Drive



jcr1
27-10-2008, 10:24 AM
This device now only shows as having 1.3 GB available. I've tried formatting it, but that only works for the 1.3 GB shown as available.
Anyone know how I might get the full 8 GB back?

gary67
27-10-2008, 10:30 AM
Return it and ge them to test it. It may have developed an error although a whil ago there were cheap drives on Trademe that were supposed to be one size but in fact were much smaller and had been cracked so to speak to read the bigger size initially. Not saying thats the case here but if it was mine I would be going back with it.

jcr1
30-10-2008, 08:12 AM
Thanks Gary67. I haven't got to DSE yet to get it tested, but, under disk management it shows 683mb of unallocated space.
I've tried to allocate it with diskpart (command line). I can't extend the FAT32 partition and can't format that as another file system.
I've googled the problem, no luck there.
So, in desperation, I come back to this forum.
I know, buy another one, they're not that expensive:eek:
But the challenge is there, to fix this one:clap

Renmoo
30-10-2008, 08:21 AM
Uhm, why not get a refund? :)

Speedy Gonzales
30-10-2008, 08:23 AM
Are you using XP or Vista??

One guy here gave the steps (http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?pid=160624)

Thats if you use Vista

Since you have a Vista Computer type diskpart.exe in Windows Search and click DiskPart.

Accept the UAC Prompt, Type List Disk, Select your Flash Drive with(Select Disk # ) then type the following the the provided order:

1. clean
2. create partition primary
3. select partition 1
4. active
5. format fs=fat32
6. wait for the format to complete
7. type assign
8. type exit
9. Done.

jcr1
30-10-2008, 12:42 PM
Uhm, why not get a refund? :)

Pig headed stubborness.

jcr1
30-10-2008, 12:45 PM
Thanks speedy gonzales, I use both.

So later, when I fix my present, real world problem, a broken bale grab, I'll flip open the lid on the Vista machine & give it a flick:thumbs:

Then I'll report back here with what happens.

Speedy Gonzales
30-10-2008, 12:47 PM
No probs

jcr1
30-10-2008, 12:49 PM
Speedy, what that guy said on the link in your post. Is precisely what happened to me......using the flash drive to restore factory settings on my EeePC. That was because I liked the OS it came with better than Ubuntu.

jcr1
31-10-2008, 06:28 AM
Yep, that worked. Got 7.66 GB on the device:thumbs::cool:

Thanks speedy. It seemed such a small thing, but it's a bit more knowledge I've gained.

Speedy Gonzales
31-10-2008, 07:47 AM
Cool, good to hear it worked :thumbs: