PDA

View Full Version : 64 Bit Compatibility



jwil1
22-10-2008, 11:15 AM
Hi all,

I am considering upgrading to Windows Vista x64, because I find I need more than 3GB of RAM.

My specs are:
-Asus P5KC Motherboard
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor (2.4GHz)
-Kingston DDR2-800 RAM - 3GB (2x1GB, 2x512MB) - about to be upgraded to 6 (2x2GB, 2x1GB)
-SATA2 Hard Drives

Is this config 64bit compatible?

TIA

EDit: and a Asus 8600GT graphics card

Speedy Gonzales
22-10-2008, 11:22 AM
Its not the hardware thats a prob, it'll be whether they are drivers (for the mobo / LAN / sound etc) for Vista 64 bit on the ASUS site

It looks like this mobo has 6 slots. BUT I dont think you can use DDR 2 and DDR 3 at the same time. Its either one or the other

jwil1
22-10-2008, 11:29 AM
Nope that's right - you can't. I'm going for 2x1GB and 2x2GB = 6GB (DDR2, not DDR3).

Speedy Gonzales
22-10-2008, 11:51 AM
It should be fine then. Since the mobo and CPU should be 64 bit. And there are 64 bit vista drivers on the ASUS site

Altho, if you want dual channel, you would have to get matching sticks

I was going to use / install XP Pro x64, (since I'm using 4GB at the mo, was planning on upping it to 8 GB).

But then found out, that there are no 64 bit drivers for this tuner.

And unless you tweak Itunes a bit, there are no 64 bit drivers for Windows XP Pro x64. So it'll run properly. But, I suppose I could use other programs for the Ipods here. I'll just have to remove the tuner

SolMiester
22-10-2008, 12:26 PM
It should be fine then. Since the mobo and CPU should be 64 bit. And there are 64 bit vista drivers on the ASUS site

Altho, if you want dual channel, you would have to get matching sticks

I was going to use / install XP Pro x64, (since I'm using 4GB at the mo, was planning on upping it to 8 GB).

But then found out, that there are no 64 bit drivers for this tuner.

And unless you tweak Itunes a bit, there are no 64 bit drivers for Windows XP Pro x64. So it'll run properly. But, I suppose I could use other programs for the Ipods here. I'll just have to remove the tuner

You would be better off using Vista 64, as it is the current proform and will have many many more drivers developed for it over XP....You could however use Windows 2003 64bit drivers for XP 64bit in some cases....

Speedy Gonzales
22-10-2008, 12:35 PM
You would be better off using Vista 64, as it is the current proform and will have many many more drivers developed for it over XP....You could however use Windows 2003 64bit drivers for XP 64bit in some cases....

True thats if I HAD money :(

Which I havent got, whereas, I've already got XP Pro x64, on CD.

Which is how I found out the tuner, and Itunes wont work. With XP Pro x64

It probably still wouldnt fix the tuner drivers. Since it doesnt say theyre for 2003 64 bit either

By the look of it (technically anyway) The 64 bit version of Itunes (yes there is a 64 bit version, isnt 64 bit at all).

Its still 32 bit. The 64 bit are the drivers, so you can burn to cd from Itunes.

fnphoto
22-10-2008, 01:05 PM
Hi all,

My specs are:
-Asus P5KC Motherboard
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor (2.4GHz)
-Kingston DDR2-800 RAM - 3GB (2x1GB, 2x512MB) - about to be upgraded to 6 (2x2GB, 2x1GB)
-SATA2 Hard Drives

Is this config 64bit compatible?

TIA

EDit: and a Asus 8600GT graphics card

I'm sitting at a machine now running 8gb DDR-2 RAM, ASUS p5k/epu m/b, Asus 8600gt silent gpu and 64 bit vista...it's been running sweet as with no driver problems ..

SolMiester
22-10-2008, 02:18 PM
True thats if I HAD money :(

Which I havent got, whereas, I've already got XP Pro x64, on CD.

Which is how I found out the tuner, and Itunes wont work. With XP Pro x64

It probably still wouldnt fix the tuner drivers. Since it doesnt say theyre for 2003 64 bit either

By the look of it (technically anyway) The 64 bit version of Itunes (yes there is a 64 bit version, isnt 64 bit at all).

Its still 32 bit. The 64 bit are the drivers, so you can burn to cd from Itunes.


As you said, it comes down to drivers...but thats all. You can run ANY 32bit application on a 64bit platform

Speedy Gonzales
22-10-2008, 02:24 PM
Thats true x64 is backward compat with 32 bit apps

Thats the only thing, thats stopping me from installing x64 (the drivers for the tuner really).

Since there are x64 drivers for everything else (chipset/sound/lan etc)

Nermal
22-10-2008, 03:34 PM
You can run ANY 32bit application on a 64bit platform

Well, you can run MOST of them. We were running XP 64 on eight systems here and all was well until we tried to run Objective ECM. The result was a total crashfest, as apparently Objective does some very naughty things with Explorer. We've had no end of trouble with it on 32-bit systems either, but they haven't actually crashed like the 64-bit systems did.

SolMiester
22-10-2008, 04:47 PM
Well, you can run MOST of them. We were running XP 64 on eight systems here and all was well until we tried to run Objective ECM. The result was a total crashfest, as apparently Objective does some very naughty things with Explorer. We've had no end of trouble with it on 32-bit systems either, but they haven't actually crashed like the 64-bit systems did.

Well, I will amend that to ANY properly written 32bit applications.....why were you running XP 64?, RAM requirements?....does the app work on V64?

jwil1
22-10-2008, 05:50 PM
Well, you can run MOST of them. We were running XP 64 on eight systems here and all was well until we tried to run Objective ECM. The result was a total crashfest, as apparently Objective does some very naughty things with Explorer. We've had no end of trouble with it on 32-bit systems either, but they haven't actually crashed like the 64-bit systems did.

That's good to know - I intend to set up a Windows XP VM (or dual boot with Vista 32bit that I currently own) to accommodate these problems.

Chilling_Silence
22-10-2008, 11:10 PM
I wouldnt touch 64-bit XP, ever... even if you paid me!
Did that once, wouldnt go there again.

If you're going to go with a 64-bit OS, PLEASE go with Vista (Or Linux) ;) You'll save yourself so much stress & hassle...

Nermal
23-10-2008, 10:35 AM
Well, I will amend that to ANY properly written 32bit applications.....why were you running XP 64?, RAM requirements?....does the app work on V64?

Yes, we were running XP64 for RAM support. I don't expect that it'll run on V64 as it doesn't even run on V32.

kersonan
23-10-2008, 12:37 PM
I wouldnt touch 64-bit XP, ever... even if you paid me!
Did that once, wouldnt go there again.

If you're going to go with a 64-bit OS, PLEASE go with Vista (Or Linux) ;) You'll save yourself so much stress & hassle...

Totally agree, avoid XP64 it will drive you mental very quickly, I'm using Vista64 Ultimate, though i dont recommend it to others, use the vanilla Vista64bit theres nothing in ultimate thats worth the difference in price for a normal user.

stormdragon
23-10-2008, 12:39 PM
I use XP x64 with practically no problems. Soon to dual boot with Vista x64.


What sort of problems have you guys had with XP x64?

Speedy Gonzales
23-10-2008, 12:44 PM
What sort of problems have you guys had with XP x64?

Nothing yet.

Well, when I tried it on the other PC. Besides the tuner driver (there are no drivers), and Itunes issue (Itunes doesnt work on x64, unless you edit the Itunes setup file, to run on XP XPro x64).

SolMiester
23-10-2008, 02:06 PM
Nothing yet.

Well, when I tried it on the other PC. Besides the tuner driver (there are no drivers), and Itunes issue (Itunes doesnt work on x64, unless you edit the Itunes setup file, to run on XP XPro x64).

Speedy, have you tried this (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080208120540AAg1p0R)

Speedy Gonzales
23-10-2008, 02:14 PM
Yer tried it, I tested it on the other PC. It worked fine. I think.

Well, I didnt try burning to cd. Since I dont have any.

Its not that Itunes doesnt work, on x64 (since its still 32 bit), its just the burning side that doesnt work with x64).

Unless you install the Gear x64 bit drivers as well.