PDA

View Full Version : how to open port 80(web server)



techgal
17-10-2008, 04:11 PM
How to open port 80(http/web server) on Dynalink rta230.
Have tried the following

Port Forwarding
Create the port forwarding rules to allow certain applications or server software to work on your computers if the Internet connection uses NAT.

Application Name External Packet Internal Host Delete
Protocol Port IP Address Port
http TCP 80 192.168.1.10 80


Where by 192.168.1.10 is my serverů
This is not working.

I am using this site : www.canyouseeme.org
To check if port 80 is open, then I get connection refused.

So how to I open this port to allow users to access my webserver..
Can any-one try to check if this website:www.canyouseeme.org give correct results
i.e if you got port 80 does it show as open

my setup is as follow

(WAN IP ADDRESS)router192.168.1.1====== 192.168.1.10Server

robsonde
17-10-2008, 04:26 PM
How to open port 80(http/web server) on Dynalink rta230.


never use that make/model but some need a save/restart before the changes take effect.

dyewitness
17-10-2008, 04:29 PM
I don't own one of those routers, but see if it's firewall has a configuration option for "virtual servers".

Should be along the lines of:

Map this externally visible port, using this protocol, to this internal machine using this internal port.

eg.
external port 80, TCP, to 192.168.10 port 80.

Again, you'll have to look up the specific config, but the above is the general idea.

CYaBro
17-10-2008, 07:24 PM
I've never opened port 80 before but don't you need to change the router's web config port to something else first as it is on port 80??
Otherwise you will get the router's config page when you try to access externally.

dyewitness
17-10-2008, 07:53 PM
I've never opened port 80 before but don't you need to change the router's web config port to something else first as it is on port 80??
Otherwise you will get the router's config page when you try to access externally.

Any decent router wouldn't respond to an external request to port 80 for remote administration.

There's usually a setting to say, yes I can be externally configured, here's my port (eg. my router's port would be 8000).