PDA

View Full Version : MySQL Problems

ubergeek85
16-10-2008, 09:48 AM
Hi guys. I'm trying to set up phpBB, and for some reason, it can't see my MySQL database. I'm no expert on MySQL, but after having a look around, it appears that the service isn't running. Trying to start it from the task manager give "Access is denied", which is odd because I'm running it as the admin. Can anyone shed some light on this? Thanks.

nofam
16-10-2008, 12:38 PM
Erayd is the man to answer this - hopefully he's around???

PM if you're desperate I guess :thumbs:

ubergeek85
16-10-2008, 12:39 PM
Nah, it's not essential. More a sandbox environment.

Erayd
17-10-2008, 03:21 AM
Hi Geekster,

Can you provide some more details about your environment? Which OS is the server running? Which webserver are you using? Have you set the phpbb database up already, or is that yet to be done?

PM if you're desperate I guessNote to anyone who read that: please do not, *ever*, PM me with a computer question unless I invited you to do so (excepting a few people - you know who you are, if you don't then you're not one of them :rolleyes:). I keep a pretty close eye on the forums, and will generally pick things up as I see them and have the time to do so. Put your problems in a new thread.

If you're really stuck and want me to give you a hand, you've waited a day or so for me to notice the thread, and you can't stand waiting a single second more, then send me a PM with a link to the thread. That way others can also benefit from the information, rather than solving things privately.

nofam
17-10-2008, 07:32 AM
. . . . .Note to anyone who read that: please do not, *ever*, PM me with a computer question unless I invited you to do so (excepting a few people - you know who you are, if you don't then you're not one of them :rolleyes:). I keep a pretty close eye on the forums, and will generally pick things up as I see them and have the time to do so. Put your problems in a new thread.