PDA

View Full Version : Problems upgrading from Firefox 2.x to Firefox 3.x



dyewitness
14-10-2008, 07:56 PM
Just wanted to share what might have been an edge case for me.

I upgraded from Firefox 2.x to Firefox 3.x and was having problems with pages not fully loading. In particular images were not showing up.

Trying another browser (immediately after using FF3), also had trouble with images etc not fully loading in a page.

Had a quick look at the logs of my router and it's firewall was complaining about excessive connections from my machine.

Digging through Firefox 3.x configuration via about:config show this value:
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server=22

My router's firewall only allows up to 10 incomplete connections per machine.

The default value is network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server=6
Somehow during the upgrade from a previous version of Firefox this value was set to something excessive.

So if you experience strange behaviour with FF3 and pages not fully loading, have quick look at the setting.

Jayess64
14-10-2008, 08:55 PM
A useful tip, and not the only "gotcha" that FF3 can deliver. After upgrading I discovered that a freeware app "Mozbackup" that I use to back up emails, bookmarks etc. was no longer backing up current FF3 bookmarks. A little searching revealed that FF3 no longer stores its bookmarks in the file bookmarks.htm under ...\profiles\identifier\. Instead, they are now held in the binary file "places.sqlite" in the same folder.

There is a setting in about:config to store a copy of the bookmarks in bookmarks.htm, set to 'false' by default. By changing this to 'true' I can now back up as I used to.

browser.bookmarks.autoExportHTML false -> true

Might have been nice if they told us about this.



Just wanted to share what might have been an edge case for me.

I upgraded from Firefox 2.x to Firefox 3.x and was having problems with pages not fully loading. In particular images were not showing up.

Trying another browser (immediately after using FF3), also had trouble with images etc not fully loading in a page.

Had a quick look at the logs of my router and it's firewall was complaining about excessive connections from my machine.

Digging through Firefox 3.x configuration via about:config show this value:
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server=22

My router's firewall only allows up to 10 incomplete connections per machine.

The default value is network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server=6
Somehow during the upgrade from a previous version of Firefox this value was set to something excessive.

So if you experience strange behaviour with FF3 and pages not fully loading, have quick look at the setting.

pctek
15-10-2008, 09:00 AM
I use Mozbackup and I recently used it to restore my bookmarks back into FF3, it did it just fine. What didn't work for some weird reason was my restore of Thunderbird, no idea why as thats still ver2.

Jayess64
15-10-2008, 04:41 PM
This is where the "gotcha" comes in. If you upgrade to FF3 the original bookmarks.htm file is left untouched and Mozbackup will happily restore it. But any new bookmarks you save won't go into bookmarks.htm unless you change the setting in about:config.

I encountered this after formatting my HD and reinstalling Windows & FF3.


I use Mozbackup and I recently used it to restore my bookmarks back into FF3, it did it just fine. What didn't work for some weird reason was my restore of Thunderbird, no idea why as thats still ver2.

CTP22
15-10-2008, 04:48 PM
Ah! So maybe that's why I'm having problems. Ever since I upgraded to FF3 (I think) I haven't been able to log onto GMAIL, YahooXtra, or my banking service, unless I get Firefox to emulate IE (which kind of defeats the purpose of using Firefox in the first place). I'll have to try your suggestion and see if that helps.

Thanks
:)

Sereena
15-10-2008, 08:46 PM
This sounds like it might be the answer to my problems, but how DO you change the network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server? While I'm fairly confident with using programmes, I'm not so good under the 'hood'. I regard my PC like my motor scooter. I'm quite happy putting petrol in, but I don't have the knowledge or interest to start working on the engine.

Can anyone supply me with some SIMPLE instructions, please?

Thanks.
:)

dyewitness
15-10-2008, 09:14 PM
This sounds like it might be the answer to my problems, but how DO you change the network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server? While I'm fairly confident with using programmes, I'm not so good under the 'hood'. I regard my PC like my motor scooter. I'm quite happy putting petrol in, but I don't have the knowledge or interest to start working on the engine.

Can anyone supply me with some SIMPLE instructions, please?

Thanks.
:)

In Firefox's location bar, type about:config
There's a whole heap of configuration items, but if you starting typing network.http in the filter box you'll find it much easier.

Sereena
15-10-2008, 09:30 PM
Bother.

Thanks for the prompt answer, Dyewitness.

I got a bit nervous when Firefox started saying "Here be dragons...", but I clicked the "I'll be careful, I promise!" button. I did the filter search and found the network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server, but it already equalled 6. The server version equalled 8. So I guess that's not the solution.

I'm actually CTP22 (my work queries 'name'), so having to login using IE is what my problem is. Has anyone got any more suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
:)

pctek
16-10-2008, 09:33 AM
This is where the "gotcha" comes in. If you upgrade to FF3 the original bookmarks.htm file is left untouched and Mozbackup will happily restore it. But any new bookmarks you save won't go into bookmarks.htm unless you change the setting in about:config.

I encountered this after formatting my HD and reinstalling Windows & FF3.

I had added quite a number of bookmarks and so backed up using Mozbackup as I needed to do a Ghost restore to the PC.
So when I'd done it and sorted everything, I restored FF with Mozbackup and it restored the bookmarks. I know it did, cause the new ones are all back in there.
So I dunno...........


As I said Thunderbird didn't, the old Ver 2.0 I happily used before. Maybe theres something weird with Mozbackup.........

dyewitness
16-10-2008, 02:25 PM
Bother.

Thanks for the prompt answer, Dyewitness.

I got a bit nervous when Firefox started saying "Here be dragons...", but I clicked the "I'll be careful, I promise!" button. I did the filter search and found the network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server, but it already equalled 6. The server version equalled 8. So I guess that's not the solution.

I'm actually CTP22 (my work queries 'name'), so having to login using IE is what my problem is. Has anyone got any more suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
:)

What's the actual problem you're having with Firefox 3.x?

When I was trying to figure out my issue, the main suggestions I came across were:
- start Firefox in safemode
- disable any addons/extensions
- possibly create a new Firefox profile, as the current one may be corrupt

Anyway, have a read through this article for more details:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic_-_Firefox