PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking Tips

CaptainVincent
03-10-2008, 03:13 PM
Hey everyone, I'm new to overclocking and have just been increasing the speed of my CPU via fsb. I have managed to get the speed from 200mhz to 230mhz and everythings going well. When I try 240mhz my computer BSOD's. I have the following specs.

ASUS GeForce 8800GS TOP 384MB
1.25GB RAM
(1GB DDR2 533Mhz) (256MB DDR2 533Mhz)
AMD x2 3800+ @ 2.3Ghz (Normally 2.0)

Some info from CPU-Z
Core speed - 2300Mhz
Bus Speed - 230Mhz
HT Link - 690Mhz
DRAM Frequency - 230Mhz

BIOS Settings
AM2 Boost - Disabled
OCD Mode - CPU, PCIE Async
CPU Frequency - 230Mhz
PCI-E - 100Mhz
CPU/LDT spread spec - 0.75% Hershey
PCI-E spread spec - Disabled
SATA spead spec - Disabled
Cool n Quiet - Disabled
Multiplier/Voltage change - auto (voltage can't go higher than 1.35 so left at auto)
Memory Clock - Auto
Flex Op - En
CAS Latency - Auto
TRAS - Auto
TRP - Auto
TRCD - Auto
TRRD - Auto
MA Timing - Auto
Bank Interleaving - Auto
Memory Hole - Disabled
DDRII Intialization Mode - Auto
CPU - NB Link Speed - 600Mhz (HT LINK)
NB Width - Auto
DRAM Voltage - Auto

Any idea what I should change to improve my overclocking? Or does everything look okay?

Thanks Heaps =).

PENTIUM
03-10-2008, 03:37 PM
If you can, turn spread spectrum off. In my experience with that series of processors it may be better to buy a faster processor than to overclock beyond 220.

nofam
03-10-2008, 03:40 PM
You'll find the guys n gals at the Overclockers forum (http://forums.overclockers.co.nz/) really helpful too!

Thebananamonkey
03-10-2008, 04:01 PM
Are you touching the voltage at all? And RAM dividers?

What divider are you using?

Also, what are you hoping to achieve out of OC? More FPS? Bragging rights? Something else?

There's a point where more GHz don't do that much, and fiddling with settings and worrying about BSOD are too much hassle. I know my Q6600 and P5K-E will handle 3.4GHz, but I don't see the point. So keep it at 3.0.