PDA

View Full Version : Stare clear of belkin wireless N Adsl Routers...

Lee08
01-10-2008, 10:15 PM
Belkin Wireless N ADSL Modem Routers Model: F5D8633-4 v1000 are faulty and will not port forward UDP, they also wont work with VOIP on Xnet VFX.

This is a copy of the emails I sent and received from belkin tech support:

Hey there, I'm an owner of a Belkin Wireless N ADSL modem router F5D8633-4 (au4) v1000 and I'm facing a problem when it comes to port forwarding. It seems that whenever I setup a UDP port forward it doesnt work however if I setup a TCP port forward the tcp port forward works fine. I run no firewall or internet security software on my pc so I know thats not an issue. I have done some further testing using online testers, etc and yes it confirms that udp port forwarding doesnt work. I have tried updating the firmware to the one that was released in august and that doesnt fix the problem either. I work as a computer technician so im pretty up with the play on port forwarding, etc and know that in order for it to work properly your pc needs a static ip on the local network, etc. Is there any solution to this? I've searched the net and it seems like this is a common problem. So before I return this to my supplier and swap it for another brand I thought I would send this email in the hope that you know how to rectify the issue as im really not happy. I really hope I will get a quick reply to this thank you. =) Lee

Belkin Response Sep 30 2008 23:56
Hello,
We have identified this problem and are currently working on a fix, in the mean time you could try disabling the firewall all together. Once a new firmware is released it will be posted on our support site. Thank you for contacting Belkin Technical Support

Customer Call Details Oct 1 2008 04:32