PDA

View Full Version : Any suggestions for a harware update - Dell DXP051?



stuffed
15-09-2008, 03:44 PM
Instead of buying a new PC thought would look at how could put some more zap into this 2 year old one by a hardware upgrade.
Do quite a lot of video editing (Pinnacle Studio 12 Plus).
Any suggestions?!
Many thanks

Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Dell DXP051
X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 4 GenuineIntel ~2992 Mhz
Processor x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 4 GenuineIntel ~2992 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A02, 10/28/2005
SMBIOS Version 2.3
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)"
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.57 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
HDD 500 GB

pctek
15-09-2008, 04:04 PM
Its got 2GB RAM and a 500GB HDD, whats wrong with it as it is?

stuffed
15-09-2008, 04:20 PM
Was looking at perhaps putting some more horse power into the processor side HDD and RAM is not an issue.

beeswax34
15-09-2008, 08:19 PM
Get a Dual Core or Quad Core processor, they're ridiculously cheap now. Might need to upgrade your mobo though if you dont have something that supports those new processors.

pcuser42
15-09-2008, 08:22 PM
Dell PCs cannot have their motherboards upgraded - they're proprietary. :mad:

stuffed
16-09-2008, 09:10 AM
Get a Dual Core or Quad Core processor, they're ridiculously cheap now. Might need to upgrade your mobo though if you dont have something that supports those new processors.

Any suggestions as to what chip, how much, and where? Would the supplier know if the MB was compatible?!
Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
16-09-2008, 09:17 AM
Open the case, look at the mobo to find out what the brand/model is

Go to whatever site and see what CPU it supports

pctek
16-09-2008, 09:55 AM
Dell PCs cannot have their motherboards upgraded - they're proprietary. :mad:

Upgraded? You mean changing the CPU - of course you can.
For that matter you can replace the board too.

pcuser42
16-09-2008, 04:23 PM
I tried taking the board out of my Dell PC and I couldn't take it out. The plugs are also proprietary - this is the issue.