PDA

View Full Version : AVG



Ron Hutton
08-09-2008, 08:23 PM
For the last two weeks I have not been able to automatically or manually download updates for AVG. I removed it and re-installed but it still tells me that it can't connect. I can access other internet sites and download. Any ideas?

lakewoodlady
08-09-2008, 08:32 PM
Which version do you have? 7 or 8?

Ron Hutton
08-09-2008, 09:20 PM
Version 8

nofam
08-09-2008, 09:45 PM
Do you have a firewall installed??

Grimy
08-09-2008, 10:16 PM
Check out the AVG free forum. Sounds like it has been common lately.

bevy121
08-09-2008, 10:33 PM
The consensus is pretty much that AVG is better replaced with Avast now.

Avast is much improved from older versions - where as AVG seems to have done a backward step

heni72847
09-09-2008, 05:58 PM
I've changed from AVG to Avast recently too. AVG 7.5 was the last good version for me.

mzee
10-09-2008, 07:59 PM
At first AVG8 was excellent, then it did an update and was ruined.
One fault is that it tries to update as soon as Windows fires up, before it has gone on line, then wastes time telling me that the update has failed!
Later it updates and wants to reboot! Three updates in a day with 3 restarts was too much.

Removed it and installed Avast which has caught several bugs already and updates without disturbing me.

I like AVG but .......

bk T
10-09-2008, 09:30 PM
At first AVG8 was excellent, then it did an update and was ruined.
One fault is that it tries to update as soon as Windows fires up, before it has gone on line, then wastes time telling me that the update has failed!
Later it updates and wants to reboot! Three updates in a day with 3 restarts was too much.

Removed it and installed Avast which has caught several bugs already and updates without disturbing me.

I like AVG but .......

I have no problems with AVG8, though other than the one you mentioned, it tries to update as soon as windows fires up. I only encounter restarts once in a while - about 2-3 times so far.

Thought of changing to AVAST, but don't quite like the user interface.

prefect
11-09-2008, 08:40 AM
I have AVG 8 and it runs sweet with no problems at all.
I tried Avast had big problems with it

heni72847
11-09-2008, 11:35 PM
didn't mention before that I got rid of AVG8 not because of update problem, probably changed before these problem occurred.

I made the switch because I can't stop the scheduled scanning fully, also its process seems to use up my cpu cycle. It made little peaks up to 50% cpu utilization about every 10 seconds.

Not sure if anyone else is experiencing the cpu peak thing, it slowed my sytem down and drained battery life.