PDA

View Full Version : windows XP dilema

calebcc
04-09-2008, 08:47 PM
ok so i have my new pc and this is my first time using Crossfire.

i have the 2 cards installed and crossfire is enabled but i only have one screen cord.

like it doesnt have one cord from each card joining into the screen, it just has one cord from the top card going into my screen.

when i go into catalyst it has primary card and then the second one is called disabled adapter.

do i need that double plugf thingy to use crossfire?

what is the disabled card doing, even though it is enabled along with crossfire?

memphis
04-09-2008, 09:46 PM
Check out http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=262

:)

calebcc
05-09-2008, 07:17 AM
ok i read that crossfire doesnt work on XP.

well i have XP pro with 2 identical cards in Crossfire, so will my second card do anything at all?

pctek
05-09-2008, 08:56 AM
What? Of course Crossfire works with XP, the O/S isn't the point. You do need a Crossfire motherboard, Not a SLI one. And you use the provided connector (came with your motherboard) to join the 2 cards together.

Then of course the monitor only connects to the first card.

You then enable it in Catalyst Control.

calebcc
06-09-2008, 09:54 AM
i do have a crossfire enabled motherboard and crossfire is enabled in catalyst, but what i want to know is what is my other card doing if i dont have it connected liek this (http://www.hardware.no/nyheter/images/ati_crossfire_stor.jpg) will my computer still fully utilize the card.

i currently have it connected with only one plug on the top card instead of one on each liek in the photo.

calebcc
06-09-2008, 10:41 AM
can anyone help?

calebcc
06-09-2008, 06:09 PM
ok i have asked around but i have not recieved a definite answer.

does windows xp support CrossfireX?

also if my two cards have the crossfire cable connecting my two HD4850s internally do i still need an external connecter to utilize crossfireX?