PDA

View Full Version : What RAM speed should I get?



GeneralKanos
13-08-2008, 09:56 PM
Aaaaahhh...

Well now that I sorted out what was wrong with my PC (bad ram) I need to get some new sticks.

Previously I had 2x1Gb of G.Skill pc6400 800MHz.

My CPU FSB is 1333MHz so I'm unsure as whether to get 667 or 800MHz RAM.

I'm not planning on OC tho I'm a gamer and I want to get as much out of my PC with as little effort as possible.

My mobo is an ASUS P5N-E SLI if that makes a difference...

And recommends appreciated

GK

jwil1
13-08-2008, 09:57 PM
http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showpost.php?p=702704&postcount=20

From your previous thread :)

Get 3GB though (2x1GB and 2x512MB) - may as well if you can afford it

GeneralKanos
13-08-2008, 09:59 PM
Ah but is it on the QVL? My last set of RAM wasn't and I dunno whether that caused the problem.

jwil1
13-08-2008, 10:00 PM
QVL??

edit: Ah, Qualified vendor list ( I think)

I have Kingston Valueram in my Asus P5KC mobo and works 100% no probs.

Any RAM should work in any mobo AFAIK. You just had bad ram.

KatiMike
13-08-2008, 11:49 PM
Any reason not to look at this ?

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=346865