PDA

View Full Version : Olympic games Video streaming

Peacock
10-08-2008, 05:31 PM
Why can I not watch the olympics on tvone/olympics site. It is all jittery and impossible to watch on live video streaming. It uses windows media player as a platform . Im damned if I can get to work properly, in fact I seem to have alot of trouble with other video streaming sites.
Is the problem just network congestion?? Im no expert but I know I have a super fast broadband wireless connection , so what is the problem.
Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
10-08-2008, 05:33 PM
Probably congestion or the wireless

stu161204
10-08-2008, 05:43 PM
I know I have a super fast broadband wireless connection , so what is the problem.

There is your problem, wireless connection is not designed for streaming video, a bit like playing games on a wireless connection.

What speeds do you get when you do a speed test at http://www.speedtest.net ??

I have been streaming Olympic Games live Video for the last three days with out much of a problem here on Xtra ADSL (Go Large)

bevy121
10-08-2008, 05:52 PM
Well I am watching streaming right now with no probs - and I'm on an old crap rural exchange that is mediocre at the best of times.
And I have a few torrents going at the same time, so I dont know why you are having jittery streams

*Edit*
As Stu says - your wireless is probably the "weak link"

Peacock
10-08-2008, 06:01 PM
Why can I not watch the olympics on tvone/olympics site. It is all jittery and impossible to watch on live video streaming. It uses windows media player as a platform . Im damned if I can get to work properly, in fact I seem to have alot of trouble with other video streaming sites.
Is the problem just network congestion?? Im no expert but I know I have a super fast broadband wireless connection , so what is the problem.
Cheers

test speed was download 472 kb/s
upload 119 kb/s

feersumendjinn
11-08-2008, 01:19 AM