PDA

View Full Version : PSU



dian77
08-08-2008, 04:32 PM
Sorry bout my never ending ish questions about psu's

This is for a friend:

My friend has got this power supply sitting around: http://www.etccomputers.co.nz/shop/main/product.asp?pid=1060

he wants to know if he can run this

AMD Athlon 64 5000+ dual core
2 gb ram
1x 160gb hdd
1 dvd/cd drive
9600gt

FYI: hes got a 430w psu nad his specs ain't worth mentioning, and the fact that i don't know

Thanks

wratterus
08-08-2008, 04:37 PM
It will run that hardware OK.

PENTIUM
08-08-2008, 04:43 PM
The power capacity is adequate. Check the motherboard and the power supply connectors in case the P/S has only a 20 pin connector, and also that it has the additional 12 volt 4 pin connector. Many motherboards with a 24 pin socket will accommodate a 20 pin connector, but be sure to position it correctly.

SolMiester
08-08-2008, 05:16 PM
18a on each 12v+ rail....only just in my option....

dian77
08-08-2008, 06:53 PM
Well i got a psu lying around somewhere... from memory its this:Silverstone ST56F

Should I give him the silverstone or let him keep his one?

Thanks

SolMiester
09-08-2008, 04:54 PM
give?......Silverstone are quality psu's, you give away ones shown in your link.