PDA

View Full Version : SEGina.dll -> Winlogon.exe : Problem

WarNox
06-08-2008, 01:10 PM
Hey,

I've spend the last few hours trying to research this problem and nothing, so decided I'll try you guys :)

The problem is when a computer sits on the log on screen it will enter a blue screen (complaining about windows logon) and then restart itself, every 11min 8sec (approx).

Blue screen information:

{Fatal System Error}
The Windows Logon Process System process...
The system has been shut down.

Things I've tried:
-Repairing WindowsXP
-Virus/AdAware/Spyware/Registry scans in Safe Mode
-sfc scan thing

When I log on as an administrator I get the typical windows pop-up screen saying windows has encountered an error, complaining about 'winlogon.exe'.

I've looked at the logs with 'eventvwr.msc' and found that whenever the computer restarts, every 11min or so I get a log error saying "application failure ... In SEGina.dll".

I cannot associate that stupid DLL with anything but it somehow relates itself to winlogon.exe. If I delete/move SEGina.dll the computer will only boot into safe mode.

Hope someone can help, this is driving me crazy...

Thanks,

Gregor

Speedy Gonzales
06-08-2008, 01:53 PM
Well SEgina.dll isn't part of XP. Well, its not on this

The only thing you can try is, remove the hdd and put it in a working computer.

Then scan it with a virus scanner

Is msgina.dll on the hdd?

SolMiester
06-08-2008, 01:59 PM
*gina.dll as far as I know is to do with login, it is usually msgina.dll,, which is presumably why you are crashing.....why it is renamed I dont know, maybe some connectivity software which is installed changed the name?!

Is the pc part of a domain?.....

Try re service pack the pc from safe mode.

WarNox
06-08-2008, 04:13 PM
Yes msgina.dll is on the PC.

All together there is 4 **gina.dll's in the WINDOWS\system32 folder.