PDA

View Full Version : Network Problem



Tukapa
29-07-2008, 10:08 PM
Hi all

A friend has been having problems with her broadband connection.

She has a DSL-302G modem which feeds into a network switch which then goes to a laptop and the desktop.

Both were working fine then suddenly the desktop stopped working.

The laptop contniues to run fine.

I plugged the desktop directly into the modem and it wouldn't connect.

I plugged the laptop directly into the modem and no problems.

Both the modem and thswitch seem to be working fine.

When I checked the desktops (onboard) network setting the address was 0.0.0.0

When I manually set the IP address, subnet mask and default gate it would show as connected but whenever trying to open a browser would get the "page cannot be displayed" eroor.

I'm thinking it's about time to try a PCI network card in case the onboard network has pooped itself.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks.

johnd
29-07-2008, 10:15 PM
Assuming you are using DHCP try "ipconfig /renew".

Speedy Gonzales
29-07-2008, 10:19 PM
What about accessing a shared folder on it??

Does that work??

Create a folder / name it anything then share it.

Does it appear on the laptop? While the laptop is connected?

Did you put the ISP's DNS server ips in as well?

Do the LED's on the back of the NIC flash / light up? Or does the LED on the router light up once its plugged into the router/switch?

Another thing you can try, is uninstall the LAN drivers, then reinstall them

CYaBro
30-07-2008, 04:13 PM
COuld be winsock corruption.
Try this (http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,25701-page,1-c,utilities/description.html).

Myth
30-07-2008, 08:10 PM
On the odd occassion I have had similar problems (usually after virus removal) I have tried using the Winsock XP fix. If that doesnt work, reinstall the NIC drivers.
Often (although not asked for) a reboot helps :)

Tukapa
31-07-2008, 07:32 AM
Thanks all.

Had already tried some of the options and tried the rest. Numerous reboots (on a very slow PC = frustrating). In the end it turned out to be a combination of things and after an hour she is all back up and running.

Thanks to all for your suggestions.