PDA

View Full Version : CD RW installed, on spare IDE but.......



13-05-2001, 07:38 PM
CD RW(master)& CD ROM(slave) plugged into spare IDE, when starting up it gets to Secondary Master: it comes up 'none' and it takes longer?
Shouldn't it register CDRW as master, CD ROM as slave??

PIII 550mhz 128MB RAM

Cheers

13-05-2001, 09:48 PM
If you have just installed the CD-RW you will have to set your old CDROM as slave & new one master using the jumpers on the back of the drives.
Maybe also check in BIOS that pri & Sec IDE's are set to AUTO, not NONE


Hope this helps

16-05-2001, 10:42 AM
Hi Scotty,
try reversing the system and set the cd to master and the cdrw to slave. If you intend to copy directly from CD to CD I suggest you put both cd drives on diferent interfaces.

17-05-2001, 01:30 AM
It depends on your BIOS. If it doesn't list the CD-ROM either I wouldn't worry. However if it does, then go into the setup and redetect all the IDE devices again. Not all BIOS's auto update when new components are added and it may just be retaining the settings from the last time the IDE devices were detected.

18-05-2001, 10:36 AM
You are right, it dosn't list the other cd rom either. SO Thanks.


Scotty