PDA

View Full Version : plz help!!!!



mrpants01
27-07-2008, 02:13 PM
so i got a new computer and 2 days ago i couldnt search on google. now i cant search on many websites but on google i can use the im feeling lucky button. i cant go on trademe but can go on bebo, youube and most sites. i cant go on hotmail either. what is happening? and what do i need to do? it happens on internet explorer, firefox and opera so its not the browser.

also i can't turn on automatic updates. every time i try it says it can't. i went to the settings for it and can't change it through there either.

ive cleared the hard drive of stuff i dont need
defragmented the disk
system restore wont work for some reason
ive re installed windows with no luck
ive done a virus scan

nothing is working
please help me

gary67
27-07-2008, 02:15 PM
go to control panel user accounts and see what account type you have, is it a limited account or administrator account.

Speedy Gonzales
27-07-2008, 02:21 PM
What are the specs of the system, and what are you on? dialup or broadband?

mrpants01
27-07-2008, 02:22 PM
im administrator
on broadband

ive got 2.0 ghz dual core
2 gb ram
320 gb hard drive

its only 2 weeks old this shouldnt be happening ay?

gary67
27-07-2008, 02:23 PM
Do you have a firewall running? What about antivirus software?

jwil1
27-07-2008, 02:23 PM
Are Vista's parental controls turned on?
Does it work properly in Firefox?

Speedy Gonzales
27-07-2008, 02:23 PM
Well in theory it shouldnt be happening. What ISP are you with. And who configured your router?? Do you have a modem/router??

What about firewalls?? Did you install another firewall, besides Windows?

What version of Windows is it?

mrpants01
27-07-2008, 02:27 PM
im running xp home, im with snap. ive got kaspersky anit virus wich came with the motherboard. ive tried it on firefox aswell. a friend thought it was a windows problem and sadi to reinstall windows which didnt work

Speedy Gonzales
27-07-2008, 02:34 PM
Since you reinstalled Windows, did you reinstall all the drivers as well?

What about service packs, did you reinstall one of them. Before putting it on the net?

mrpants01
27-07-2008, 02:38 PM
just reinstalled the drivers as far as i no

Speedy Gonzales
27-07-2008, 02:42 PM
Is this 2nd hand? If it is, it sounds like its knackered

mrpants01
27-07-2008, 02:48 PM
na its new like 2 weeks old all the parts were off c1com and playtech. i did torrent some movies last week would that have done anything

mrpants01
27-07-2008, 02:50 PM
and i can go on trademe, google etc on the other computers in the house

Speedy Gonzales
27-07-2008, 03:03 PM
Well I wouldnt tell the world that you download movies.

Depending on what else you've downloaded in the last few days, since the other computers work ok, its probably infected with something

Or something on your computer hasnt been configured properly.

HOW many computers in the house? And what version of Windows are on those?

And which computer is the main PC / connected to the router?

mrpants01
27-07-2008, 04:12 PM
3 computers and the router just moves to whoever wants it. im not running wireless. they all run xp