PDA

View Full Version : All HP Techies!! Come on in!! Challange!!



mark1978
27-07-2008, 12:21 PM
Ok, so my colleague gave me this computer right..he said, don't know whats wrong with it but if if you can fix it, you can have it, so I already have an idea who I give it too, stay at home mum with 2 kiddies....anyway!

It is a HP Pavilion 8904, I turned it on, first it gave me a HP screen so I thought that was promising, but nothing seems to happen after that (Screen dissapeared and it went black)
I dont hear any post, tried to let it start up with only a drive and the hard drive, nothing either, cant go into bios either by holding DEL

So you HP techies, what do I need to do first??

Erayd
27-07-2008, 12:28 PM
Hit F10 to get the BIOS, not DEL. HP/Compaq doesn't use the standard setup.

mark1978
27-07-2008, 12:31 PM
Ok let me try that first

mark1978
27-07-2008, 12:38 PM
Ok, it appears nothing seems to happen now, no HP start-screen....got any idea's?

jwil1
27-07-2008, 02:01 PM
Hit F1 to get into BIOS?

gary67
27-07-2008, 02:03 PM
Or F8 try any combination. If not pull the HDD and run it through USB on another PC to see if it has anything on it.

wainuitech
27-07-2008, 02:16 PM
One easy way to test the hardware is to load something Like a Live Linux CD, Ubuntu for example, if the hardware is working, you will boot and be able to see the Hard drive's contents.

If its simply a software problem reinstall the OS, load drivers and away you go.

Some HP's also use F2 to enter the BIOS.

mark1978
27-07-2008, 04:50 PM
What if I can't get into the bios??

wainuitech
27-07-2008, 05:06 PM
Try removing the CMOS battery, resetting the motherboard back to default, if it wont boot up then disconnect all hardware apart from the power Supply/CPU/RAM /graphic card (if it has one) try booting again, if it still wont boot to the post screen then its possibly knackered.

A PC will boot to the post screen without a HD/Optical Drive - just wont go any further as it complains they are missing, but from what you mention its not even posting.

You can try another Power Supply as well, that may have failed and while it starts the system, doesn't have what's required to run the PC.

tweak'e
27-07-2008, 06:13 PM
being an HP power supply is certainly suspect.

bevy121
27-07-2008, 08:10 PM
Might be a silly suggestion - but have you tried another battery as well?

wainuitech
27-07-2008, 08:19 PM
being an HP power supply is certainly suspect. most certainly is - I have a customers HP/Compaq, when you press the power button the fans go on, the power light flickers but thats all, no post - connected a Hyena 300W (yeah I know - crap PSU - its all I have at the moment till tomorrow) and it boots perfectly.

mark1978
27-07-2008, 09:17 PM
Thanks guys I really appreciate your help, it's in the closet at the moment and I gave it a rest for the day, I will copy some suggestions from you guys into a word document.

mark1978
27-07-2008, 09:20 PM
How much is a new battery?

Speedy Gonzales
27-07-2008, 09:33 PM
$3-4 dollars. If you / they mean a CMOS battery.

mark1978
06-09-2008, 04:42 PM
Just bought a new battery and it does nothing now, not even post! Knackered??

wainuitech
06-09-2008, 05:27 PM
Did you try another Power Supply ?

georgeks
06-09-2008, 06:10 PM
As a technician, I'll start from the beginning:
This thing is OLD, we don't even repair them at work, just "Defective" or "Scrap"
No beep, that means the Power Supply does not pass it's self test
I,d say suspects are:
Power Supply
Chipset (e.g. Mainboard)
I'll disconnect the HDD and try to boot without it
I'll remove the CMOS battery-some old units appear to retain errors/settings

pctek
07-09-2008, 09:25 AM
No beep, that means the Power Supply does not pass it's self test

Power Supply
Mainboard
I'll disconnect the HDD and try to boot without it


No beep means it didn't post for whatever reason, not because the PSU is necessarily faulty. Could have failed POST for a lot of reasons.

I'd try PSU first, RAM second and then its likely to be the motherboard. In which case its probably not worth messing about with.

mark1978
07-09-2008, 01:57 PM
It's a shame, I gave up, I did not had a extra power supply, it's just what georgeks said, it's old!. I have taken it appart and kept the 40 gig seagate barracuda hard drive!
Thanks a lot for al your help, I will find another pc to fix (I hope) and then give it away.

Lee08
07-09-2008, 06:39 PM
:badpc: would of thought if it wasnt psu it would most likely be the cpu.