PDA

View Full Version : sims 2 problem



LarsJohann
24-07-2008, 08:54 AM
hi im trying to play the sims 2 on my laptop with vista on it and loads the village screen but then stops responding. what do i do?

Chilling_Silence
24-07-2008, 09:49 AM
Hi,

What kind of graphics card do you have?
Have you done your graphics card driver updates?
What expansions have you got installed?
Has it worked previously and suddenly stopped, or never worked before?

MAC_H8ER
24-07-2008, 10:33 AM
yeah try updating your drivers that should help a lot - the sims 2 is not very friendly with laptops going from graphical errors to refusing to start - although i think they relased a "laptop friendly" edition?

feersumendjinn
24-07-2008, 11:14 AM
Also try running the program in a different compatibility mode (right-click the prog name or icon shortcut, click Properties on that menu, click Compatibility tab, and select another mode (possibly W98 or XP, what does the Sims 2 box recommend)), then Apply that.
I doubt if it's a driver problem.
Does any warning boxes or other come up when it 'stops responding'?

Agent_24
24-07-2008, 03:04 PM
If it has never worked before, try updating your video drivers and installing the latest patch for the game. You can also try turning off hardware sound acceleration and/or updating your audio drivers

if it has worked before - what changed between it working and not working?