PDA

View Full Version : Processor advice



DeSade
23-07-2008, 11:59 PM
My new computer build has been held up with suppliers being out of the E8600 that I want.

So since I have the patience of a 3 year old I am thinking of replacing it with the Q9450.

Can anyone answer this questions.

Is it a good replacement?
Is it going to be as powerful with a lower GHz rating than the E?

gary67
24-07-2008, 07:34 AM
Visit the intel site and do a comparison

DeSade
24-07-2008, 08:10 AM
I spent a good hour on that site, I didn't find any direct comparison or review that pits them head to head.
Can you be more specific as to where it is please

autechre
24-07-2008, 09:54 AM
Depends on what you are doing with it. If you're doing a lot of work that involves multiple processors, then the quad will be quicker. If you're just doing day to day stuff like browsing the net or playing any single processor games, it will be slightly slower but I doubt it will be noticeable.

Sweep
24-07-2008, 10:09 AM
Try here for comparisons:-

http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/processors/3d-studio-max-9,369.html

HTH.

DeSade
24-07-2008, 10:54 AM
Depends on what you are doing with it. If you're doing a lot of work that involves multiple processors, then the quad will be quicker. If you're just doing day to day stuff like browsing the net or playing any single processor games, it will be slightly slower but I doubt it will be noticeable.

I am only considering the Quad because the E8600 will take to long to get here.
so price etc etc etc don't matter, all that matters is the performance between the 2

Neither of the 2 I am wanting to compare are on the Toms list.

pctek
24-07-2008, 11:39 AM
http://www.tcmagazine.com/comments.php?id=20725&catid=2

SolMiester
24-07-2008, 12:48 PM
Desade, you were after the E8600 because of the high speed?....You can clock any of the E series higher than the rated Intel speeds with ease!....

Personally, if you dont upgrade often, I would go for the Quad Core, it will reach the E8600 speed easy enough...

DeSade
24-07-2008, 01:14 PM
I am not confident with over-clocking and I can't afford to fry the equipment by messing it up.
Yes I wanted the E8600 cause out of what I could afford this looked to be the fastest.

Quad core might be nice but can it hit these speeds (without the over-clock) because speed is premium to me.

Battleneter2
24-07-2008, 01:47 PM
Overclocking modern processors like the Core 2 Duo's and Quads is exceptionally easy and safe. Thinking it will"fry' your equipment is a perception from 10 years ago.

I spend a lot of time in overclocking forums and have done a lot myself, and it is exceptionally rare to hear of a failed processor for any reason other than human install error or general stupidity lol.

Agent_24
24-07-2008, 04:06 PM
But once you start overclocking things you won't be able to stop :D

SolMiester
24-07-2008, 04:12 PM
I am not confident with over-clocking and I can't afford to fry the equipment by messing it up.
Yes I wanted the E8600 cause out of what I could afford this looked to be the fastest.

Quad core might be nice but can it hit these speeds (without the over-clock) because speed is premium to me.

I dont understand this sentence?, can it hit these speeds (yes) without overclocking?....Ummmthe speed DOESnt change unless you overclock. You do realise that every cpu is basically the same, Intel just bin them at different speeds....

DeSade
24-07-2008, 04:22 PM
Nor do I Sol thats the problem, I don't understand how the processors are rated.

Meh its moot now, I was running out of time so I ordered the Q9450.
I can always ditch it later if I need too.

Battleneter2
24-07-2008, 05:48 PM
But once you start overclocking things you won't be able to stop :D

mmm true true, I was trying to pump more volts through my mouse yesterday.

Agent_24
24-07-2008, 05:56 PM
mmm true true, I was trying to pump more volts through my mouse yesterday.

Get a Bestec PSU from an old HP machine. Preferably one of those faulty ones with ~19v on 5VSB. Might need to cool your mouse with something like Sodium Bicarbonate though.

Battleneter2
24-07-2008, 05:58 PM
Get a Bestec PSU from an old HP machine. Preferably one of those faulty ones with ~19v on 5VSB. Might need to cool your mouse with something like Sodium Bicarbonate though.

Ah ok nice, ill give it a go :punk

Agent_24
25-07-2008, 01:23 AM
I take no responsibility for damages :p