PDA

View Full Version : IE7 error



nofam
23-07-2008, 12:06 PM
Upgraded a friend's brand new Asus laptop with XP Pro to SP3, but realised half-way through the install that I hadn't installed IE7. Everything seemed fine initially, but now whenever I try to browse to another website from the homepage (friend set it to xtra.co.nz), IE7 encounters a problem and has to close.

I uninstalled IE7 (noticed it was only showing on add/remove as 2 Mb?) and IE6 works fine. Re-installed IE7 and the problem re-appeared.

Am I right in thinking upgrading IE after SP3 was a bad thing? Should I uninstall SP3, then install IE7 followed by SP3 again?

:help: :p

Speedy Gonzales
23-07-2008, 12:10 PM
It could be an addon for IE 7. What addons are installed (like google toolbar etc).

Addons can also crash IE7. Disabling it or uninstalling whatever, should fix it

I dont think it matters what you install first (IE 7 or SP3), IE 7 shouldnt crash

wratterus
23-07-2008, 12:25 PM
Shouldn't, no. :p

Lots of things shouldn't, including gay marriage.

But anyway... :D

I've found occasional issues trying to install IE7 post Sp3 - it's safer to install it before. And get rid of any toolbars/addons etc, and reset to defaults if it continues to fail.

nofam
23-07-2008, 12:31 PM
Ok the plot thickens. . . . .He had his homepage set to http://nz.yahoo.com/ - I changed the homepage to http://www.google.co.nz, restarted IE7 and no problems. Browsed from this new homepage to www.stuff.co.nz no problems. Browsed back to http://nz.yahoo.com/, and then any other page I try to browse to causes the crash.

So can I conclude that there's something in http://nz.yahoo.com/ that is causing the issue? :D

Speedy Gonzales
23-07-2008, 12:34 PM
Does it show the name of a file when it crashes??

If it does thats the culprit

wratterus
23-07-2008, 12:38 PM
Have you updated flash player?

nofam
23-07-2008, 01:15 PM
Have you updated flash player?

When I tried to update Flash, the active-x control runs, but then I get a box saying 'unable to authenticate installer' and I can't get any further. :badpc:

Speedy Gonzales
23-07-2008, 01:21 PM
Download it manually then install it

You're not the only one with that prob (http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/forum/messageview.cfm?forumid=44&catid=184&threadid=1259902&enterthread=y)

nofam
23-07-2008, 01:24 PM
I'll give that a shot tonight - it's a bit naughty fixing a mate's lappy at work when I have a real job to do!! :D

Thanks Speedy/Wratt :thumbs:

Speedy Gonzales
23-07-2008, 02:03 PM
Its probably coz youre behind a domain / firewall / proxy.

If youre doing this at work. Thats if you use any of these at work

wratterus
23-07-2008, 02:12 PM
Its probably coz youre behind a domain / firewall / proxy.

If youre doing this at work. Thats if you use any of these at work

Yar, or...

There are problems with some .dll files.

I'd download Dial-A-Fix (http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System-Miscellaneous/Dial-a-fix.shtml) (Thanks Wainui!!) :D and do the windows update repair, and the cryptographic and windows installer fixes, see if that changes anything. You've reset IE to defaults?

nofam
23-07-2008, 02:24 PM
Yeah we're behind an ISA server, but that's not normally an issue.

Finished my lunch early and installed the redistributable flash, and it works perfectly (Stupid IE7. . . mutter. . .grumble. . . .rhubarb . . . :annoyed: )

Thanks again guys.

:cool:

wratterus
23-07-2008, 02:32 PM
IE7 fails. :D

Glad you got it sorted.