PDA

View Full Version : Networking printer (XP- win2000)

fluffydog
22-07-2008, 03:26 PM
Having a problem networking a printer. Printer was networked to XP laptop and Win 2000 desktop. Have changed the laptop to a XP desktop. Installed the printer and now it will not talk to the Win 2000 desktop.If we update the win2000 to XP will I loose any data on the Win 2000 desktop or will it "suck it all over" automatically? I am at a loss what else to do to make it work.
:groan:

nofam
22-07-2008, 04:39 PM
- Is the Win2K machine on the same workgroup/domain as the XP one?
- You say the printer was networked to XP laptop - is the printer attached via USB cable to the new XP machine, or is a standalone network printer
- If the printer is a network one, are all 3 devices on the same subnet (i.e. 192.168.1.xxx)

fluffydog
22-07-2008, 04:46 PM
Ok I am not that technical so bear with me please. Printer was attached via USB cable to laptop and is now connected to new XPdesktop by USB cable. This printer is talking to the printer. When I try to add a printer to the win2K desktop the wizard pops up and when I go to search for printer no printer shows up. Should I install the printer seperately to the win2K machine fro the install cd and then try to locate it? ( I am sure that is not how we got it going the first time when it was all connected and working with the laptop)

Speedy Gonzales
22-07-2008, 04:59 PM
Did you select - A network printer, or a printer connected to another computer in 2K, if its got the option?

Not local printer connected to this computer, since the printer isnt physically connected to it?

What about firewalls?? Any installed on either PC?

fluffydog
22-07-2008, 05:03 PM
Selected a network printer...... not sure about firewalls if I find one in the XP computer should I disable it? and in the 2K one also.?

Speedy Gonzales
22-07-2008, 05:09 PM
Did you share the printer on XP first??