PDA

View Full Version : New mobo not posting



gary67
27-06-2008, 07:07 PM
Hi
just installed this mobo Asus p5kpl-cm, everything plugged in correctly turned on no post, no bios and tried XP disk that I know works nothing screeen stays blank. Any ideas?

pcuser42
27-06-2008, 07:16 PM
Is the graphics card an integrated card or a dedicated (PCIe or AGP) one? It may be a faulty card.

feersumendjinn
27-06-2008, 07:23 PM
Lights? Fans? Beeps?
Board shorting out against mounting spacers?, (too many fitted?, easy to do ;)).
Cards pushed in/lined up with slots? (video and ram, have had boards not line up correctly with case backplane/slots and cards pulling out).
Take board out of case and connect everything, if it still doesnt boot, try disconnecting or substituting until it does, if still not, maybe is DOA.

gary67
27-06-2008, 07:26 PM
Its intergrated even tried my old working PCie card and still nothing. I removed the RAM and got no beeps either

feersumendjinn
27-06-2008, 07:38 PM
Definitely plugged in the 20pin PLUS 4 PIN power plugs into motherboard?

Speedy Gonzales
27-06-2008, 07:43 PM
How much ram is installed?? / how many ram slots are filled?

According to the ASUS FAQ for this mobo

For some reasons, my system just refuses to boot when loading four DIMMs onto this motherboard.

System works like a champ when installing these DIMMs onto the motherboard separately under one or two dimm configuration.
Is this normal?

Yes, this is normal.

Due to Intel G31 chipset limitation, this motherboard can only support up to four banks of DIMM in total.

Installing memory over this limitation will result in system fail to boot completely.

Please use all single sided DIMMs if wish to occupy all four DIMM slots on this motherboard.

This applies to your mobo, the P5KPL/C-1600/VM

gary67
27-06-2008, 07:43 PM
Yes its a 24 pin and the 4 pin both plugged in correctly just off to the garage for another poweer supply

gary67
27-06-2008, 07:45 PM
this mobo only has 2 slots and saccording to the manual should run double or single sided RAM

Speedy Gonzales
27-06-2008, 07:49 PM
Hmm youre right

Whats the speed / specs of the CPU??

The BIOS on the system may not support it

If the CPU is

Core 2 Duo E7200 (2.53GHz,1066FSB,L2:3MB,65W,rev.M0)
Core 2 Duo E7300 (2.66GHz,1066FSB,L2:3MB
Core 2 Duo E8300 (2.83GHz,1333FSB,L2:6MB,65W,rev.C0)
Core 2 Extreme QX9770 (3.2GHz,1600FSB,L2:2X6MB,rev.C1,4 cores)

You need BIOS update 0509

Or this

Core 2 Quad Q9450 (2.66GHz,1333FSB,L2:12MB,rev.C1,4 cores) 0512 beta

Other CPU's should work with the BIOS that's on it (0305 the first BIOS release) according to the ASUS site

gary67
27-06-2008, 07:51 PM
ITs my old P4 the mobo does support it I'm stumped. if I remove the RAM it should beep right? well it didn't

Speedy Gonzales
27-06-2008, 07:58 PM
Is this old P4 775 or 478 pin??

If 478 pin, it wont fit on this mobo

What was the old mobo?

gary67
27-06-2008, 08:01 PM
No its 775 the same the old mobo was a Intel d915pwk not found on the intel website though did find elswhere but can't remember where

Speedy Gonzales
27-06-2008, 08:02 PM
So its not one of the CPU's I listed that need a BIOS update?

Whats the specs of this CPU, if its meant to work?

gary67
27-06-2008, 08:03 PM
No its definately a pentium 4 and not one of those.
Specs Intel p4 3.07 gigahertz

Speedy Gonzales
27-06-2008, 08:12 PM
I would go here and see if its listed (http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=P5KPL-CM)

There's a lot of 3 ghz CPU's there

gary67
27-06-2008, 08:18 PM
%@#%%^*& mines the P4 519 and it's not listed %%$^@# again guess I'm going shopping again.

Speedy Gonzales
27-06-2008, 08:22 PM
You could try getting the BIOS update (http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=P5KPL-CM)

Take the system into the shop see if they can put a lower spec CPU in it then flash the BIOS.

Then put yours back in, and see if it works

Then you'll see whether the CPU is still working or whether the BIOS update will fix it with the CPU you've got

gary67
27-06-2008, 08:25 PM
Thanks speedy I'm building myself will try again tomorrow might be easier to try a new cpu I can borrow one over the weekend