PDA

View Full Version : Working with a network drive

daveconz
24-06-2008, 04:31 PM
I have just added a network drive to my LAN for the first time. I'd really like to use this as my main working hard drive, i.e. where I keep all the files I'm currently working on so I can access them easily from anywhere on the LAN. So far it's working okay except that it's often really slow opening, editing and saving files. I'm new to working like this so I'm not sure how much of the slow performance is normal for a network drive, and whether there's anything I can do to speed things up.

Most of the time I can browse files in Windows Explorer or Mac Finder with an acceptable lag, although Windows is painfully slow indexing large directories for the first time. Applications such as Photoshop can open and save files okay. MYOB is quite sluggish opening and saving files. Things get bad in Dreamweaver CS3 - the site cache is too slow to use, small files take several seconds to open, there is a severe lag when editing in WSYWIG mode, and saving files can take up to 10 seconds or more.

And yet I can open these same files on the iMac (using TextEdit) and save them at close to normal speed. All in all it doesn't seem like there's a hard speed limit in the network, it just seems that some applications are worse than others at working over the network. Does that sound likely? If so, can I convince them to work faster?

Here is my system:
Network drive: LaCie 2big 2-disk raid (2x1TB mirrored - I know that's slower but I want it for safety)
Network: Gigabit ethernet, US Robotics router (10/100/1000Mbps)
Desktop PC: Vista 32-bit, Intel Core Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz, 4GB RAM
iMac: OSX, 2.4GHz Intel Core Duo
I also have 1 more Vista and 2 XP computers - network performance is similar on all of them.

While playing around I found the JumboFrame option - I haven't changed it from the default 1500 bytes because I don't understand the implications.

Thanks for any advice.

Speedy Gonzales