PDA

View Full Version : Vista blue screen error



surferdude69
15-06-2008, 02:35 PM
Need Help...I install the windows vista service pack 1 on my laptop.after its installed my modem goes to connect up to the net and as soon as it connects a blue screen comes with error messages and then it restarts my computer.does it every time. so what i do is uninstall the service pack and it works fine after that. any ideas why it does this and what i can do to fix it????

wainuitech
15-06-2008, 02:43 PM
Welcome to Press F1 Surferdude - Can you please post back the error message and error codes that appear, and what is the make and model of Laptop.

Blue screens are caused by either drivers / software incomparability issues, or hardware problems. Since your s appears to be after SP1 then its more than likely the drivers.

surferdude69
15-06-2008, 03:15 PM
hey is this info enough? got it from problem reports history. i have an Acer Aspire 5920g

Problem signature
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 5129

Files that help describe the problem (some files may no longer be available)
Mini060408-01.dmp
sysdata.xml
Version.txt

View a temporary copy of these files
Warning: If a virus or other security threat caused the problem, opening a copy of the files could harm your computer.

Extra information about the problem
BCCode: 1000007f
BCP1: 00000008
BCP2: 805D3130
BCP3: 00000000
BCP4: 00000000
OS Version: 6_0_6001
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 768_1
Server information: 215e4676-cbc8-4fac-bfb0-bf6540d15471

wainuitech
15-06-2008, 04:05 PM
Do you by any chance have a Logitec web cam installed ?

The Error code thats a lot more helpful is the one that is shown on the Blue Screen, normally 0x0000?????

surferdude69
15-06-2008, 05:00 PM
nah have a acer crystal eye webcam.ok ill have to install the update again.will do it now and get back to you . ive just noticed on the problem reports and solutions page it says the problem was caused by a device driver

wainuitech
15-06-2008, 05:10 PM
Yeah the BSOD usually, as mentioned before is caused either by driver issues, or hardware, and since it only crashes after SP1 its a high probability its a driver issue.

If you updated the modem Driver that may fix the problem, as there may be an issue with SP1 - trying to locate the drivers now for you.

Edited: Try Here (http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/forms/portal20.cfm?website=AcerPanAm.com/au&siteid=8116&areaid=12&formid=3394#results). you may need to select Notebook / and then model & Search if the driver list doesn't show.

surferdude69
15-06-2008, 07:47 PM
hey this is what it comes up

Techinical information

Stop: 0x0000007F (0x00000008, 0x805D3130, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)


hope this can help
thanks

Speedy Gonzales
15-06-2008, 08:37 PM
Is this what it says ? (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/137539)

This has exactly the same stop error (http://boards2.sega.com/psu_board/viewtopic.php?p=896382&sid=6e7b55afcb6a471735ff4f2d6e96b2b4)

Is game guard installed?

surferdude69
15-06-2008, 08:41 PM
yea i was just reading that ay. not sure if i have game guard .how would i find out if i have it?

Speedy Gonzales
15-06-2008, 08:45 PM
Look in control panel / programs and features for Gameguard. I dont even know what it is. Probably for some kind of game

wainuitech
15-06-2008, 08:58 PM
have you by any chance overclocked the CPU as well ? it looks like its a driver issue Ok some thing doesn't like SP1.

Other possible causes - Last one esp since it only crashes on SP1, try getting the latest drivers for the Modem from the link I poster earlier.

• Stop 0x7F messages are typically due to defective, malfunctioning, or failed memory hardware. If you added new hardware recently, remove and replace it to determine if it is causing or contributing to the problem. Run diagnostics software supplied by the system manufacturer to determine if the component has failed.

• Running the CPU beyond the rated specification, known as "overclocking," can cause Stop 0x7F or other error messages due to heat buildup. When diagnosing problems on overclocked systems, first restore all clock and bus speed settings to the manufacturer recommended values to determine if this resolves the issues.


• Stop 0x7F messages can occur after installing incompatible applications, drivers, or system services.

wainuitech
15-06-2008, 09:33 PM
Just a thought- have you got any Norton Products installed as well, I was just looking through MS and found This here (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/822789) - while some of the Error numbers are different,it is also possible that SP1 if you have Nortons is causing the crash on dial up, since thats the only time its crashing as you mentioned.

OR does it crash at other times as well?

surferdude69
17-06-2008, 01:13 PM
i have just been looking through my device manager and in network adapters menu, and on the WAN Miniport (SSTP) icon there is a yellow exclamation mark. and this is what the device status says.

Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)

Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available.

could this be causing my problem?

Speedy Gonzales
17-06-2008, 01:23 PM
I dont think that'll make it crash

Do this (http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=2615113&SiteID=17)

It doesnt look like its needed, as it wasnt originally part of Vista anyway

surferdude69
17-06-2008, 01:27 PM
yea just came across that ay.yea my mate reckons i dont need SP1 so i just wont worry about it

gemmabrittonuk
12-07-2008, 12:00 AM
I have the same sort of problem. Only i will be in the middle of some work and it will suddenly display the blue screen with the message:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: d1
BCP1: 00000018
BCP2: 00000002
BCP3: 00000000
BCP4: 8B6AD98B
OS Version: 6_0_6000
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 768_1

and then restart. Not sure what this is i have disabled firewalls etc but unsure any help would be appreciated!

thanks gemma

Speedy Gonzales
12-07-2008, 12:02 AM
yea just came across that ay.yea my mate reckons i dont need SP1 so i just wont worry about it

And what would your mate know?

surferdude69
13-07-2008, 01:10 PM
he knows alot. i got intouch with acer and they said update to the SP1 drivers after ive installed SP1 but i cant use the internet once SP1 is installed...

gary67
13-07-2008, 01:32 PM
download the driver package first and save it to your desktop or a flashdrive then it does not matter if you can't get on the net. Collectively this forum knows one hell of a lot and quite a few who write here are full time techs.

pctek
13-07-2008, 08:11 PM
my modem goes to connect up to the net and as soon as it connects a blue screen comes

As you haven't given us the exact BSOD error I'll take a guess and say the SP overwrote your modem driver.
Reinstall it from Acers site.