PDA

View Full Version : Sound card for sound recording

qazwsxokmijn
13-06-2008, 09:39 PM
A friend of mine has requested me to build him a PC mainly for graphics, movie making, some gaming and sound recording. His work is amateurish, so we don't need anything too high-end, though he has settled for a quad core Q6600.

I've settled for Q6600, 4GB RAM, 9600GT, 2x WD 640GB HDDs (1 internal, 1 external) and a Gigabyte G31 mobo. It's got onboard sound, but I'm not a pro in the sound field.

Will it be good enough for amateur sound recording that will decently capture sound clearly etc?

Speedy Gonzales
13-06-2008, 09:41 PM
Yup, any onboard soundcard is good enough for clear sound

OTOH, if he wants to be more technical / fancy and wants optical, he'll have to buy a separate card with optical in/out and RCA in/out. If he wants the works

vitalstatistix
13-06-2008, 09:50 PM
What's his budget and how much emphasis has he got on gaming, like is it 60% gaming and 40% graphics and video editing or 60% video editing and 40% gaming?

qazwsxokmijn
13-06-2008, 09:58 PM
Cheers guys. He's got $1500 max, and sourcing parts from a couple of different shops I can squeeze everything to around $1420. Well, now minus 90 because I don't need a sound card.

Speedy Gonzales
13-06-2008, 09:58 PM
If he's into video editing, the sound will only be as good as whats been recorded. (If its from a DV cam or something)

If what he records is static/crap it'll be crap after

qazwsxokmijn
13-06-2008, 10:06 PM
So long as the sound card does a decent job, he would be happy. He's not looking at those Hollywood systems. I think he just wants to make some homemade movies if you know what I mean.

rob_on_guitar
13-06-2008, 10:21 PM
Realtek is good to use as a cheap mixer and can add a fair bit of use to recording/panning etc,

vitalstatistix
13-06-2008, 10:51 PM