PDA

View Full Version : audio error



andon
24-05-2008, 09:57 AM
Hi, my computer has fallen silent, it says there is no audio device installed but when i look at the hardware etc. it is saying the various audio devices are working properly! Any ideas? cos a party aint no party with no sounds bro

rob_on_guitar
24-05-2008, 10:10 AM
Whats your audio set up?

feersumendjinn
24-05-2008, 11:33 AM
Yeah, more details needed e.g. computer brand (if applicable), motherboard (on-board audio?) or soundcard brand/model , speakers (laptop/built-in?), operating system (Vista can be tricky when it comes to sound). Checked your connections?

BTW welcome to PressF1, andon (andonandon ;))

andon
25-05-2008, 04:51 PM
yea it's a pc company (who?) machine about 6 years old with a chaintech 9pjl atx motherboard with on board audio cmedia 8738 for sound i'm pretty sure i haven't got a seperate sound card tho couldn't be certain. this computer was in the cupboard 'cos it was playing up before but then my laptop died so i had to crank the old ***** back up. it's been going ok for a while but now no sound. other specs winxp sp2 and altech lansing speakers but when i want good sound i just run it through my normal home stereo

Driftwood
25-05-2008, 05:05 PM
In device manager is there a reference to "sound, vidio & game controllers"

Agent_24
25-05-2008, 09:59 PM
Try re-installing the latest drivers for your sound from here?
http://www.cmedia.com.tw/?q=en/driver