PDA

View Full Version : Freeview HD in Nelson/Motueka - is it possible?



wratterus
21-05-2008, 09:28 PM
I was thinking, and looking at locations of towers...and wondering, and doing some more thinking...

This is mainly directed at apsattv, I know your really clued up on this. :)

I'm pretty sure the distance isn't an issue....and I'm pretty sure that D'Urville Island isn't high enough to affect anything, but the main issue I'm expecting to encounter is transmissions from Mt Campbell or Takaka Hill interfering with it.

Any comments?

Pic1 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot01.jpg)

Pic2 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot02.jpg)

Pic3 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot03.jpg)

Pic4 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot04.jpg)

Pic5 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot05.jpg)

Pic6 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot06.jpg)

Pic7 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot07.jpg)

Pic8 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot08.jpg)

Pic9 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot09.jpg)

Pic10 (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/fv_mot10.jpg)

somebody
21-05-2008, 10:00 PM
If you can pick up the UHF channels (Prime, Maori TV) clearly, then it shouldn't be an issue.

apsattv
22-05-2008, 02:13 AM
I was thinking, and looking at locations of towers...and wondering, and doing some more thinking...

This is mainly directed at apsattv, I know your really clued up on this. :)

I'm pretty sure the distance isn't an issue....and I'm pretty sure that D'Urville Island isn't high enough to affect anything, but the main issue I'm expecting to encounter is transmissions from Mt Campbell or Takaka Hill interfering with it.

Any comments?



Yes see this thread on the DTV forum posted Last Year.
http://www.dtvforum.co.nz/forum/showthread.php?t=65

There is a path to Wharite from Mouteka especially Thorp Street as there was a tower there picking up Tv3 from Wharite Channel 7 and rebroadcasting it on Channel 11 before Tv3 came to Nelson.

The good thing though is that site is actually beamed in our direction and DTT needs a lot less signal to lock. One problem might be signal fade as the path is mostly sea.

Best thing you can do would be try?

Codex
22-05-2008, 04:05 AM
man...i just want to quote that wall of text...because its a wall of text...

/uselessinput

Scouse
22-05-2008, 10:19 AM
Hi Wrattie. Nice selection of pics. I see the location of my new house in pic4. Appreciated. Will follow this thread with interest.

wratterus
22-05-2008, 10:54 AM
Yes see this thread on the DTV forum posted Last Year.
http://www.dtvforum.co.nz/forum/showthread.php?t=65

There is a path to Wharite from Mouteka especially Thorp Street as there was a tower there picking up Tv3 from Wharite Channel 7 and rebroadcasting it on Channel 11 before Tv3 came to Nelson.

The good thing though is that site is actually beamed in our direction and DTT needs a lot less signal to lock. One problem might be signal fade as the path is mostly sea.

Best thing you can do would be try?


Sweet, cheers for that! Your way ahead of me thats for sure. :p

OK, now onto the subject of UHF aerials - I basically know nothing.

Could you recommend me one?

wratterus
22-05-2008, 10:55 AM
Hi Wrattie. Nice selection of pics. I see the location of my new house in pic4. Appreciated. Will follow this thread with interest.

You'll be just down the road... :p

:thumbs:

Nermal
22-05-2008, 01:30 PM
If you can pick up the UHF channels (Prime, Maori TV) clearly, then it shouldn't be an issue.

I haven't managed to get Freeview working reliably at my place yet, but some friends can get it perfectly yet have poor UHF reception. I'm therefore unsure how important UHF clarity is.

Bantu
22-05-2008, 05:07 PM
wratterus Your area is not on the Freeview list yet on their website. But as already said if you can get a good signal on UHF for Prime TV then it should stand you in good stead for HD later maybe.

For areas with poorer reception it is advised to get a good High Gain UHF aerial.
My Area is HD available and the Aerial I got was this one - http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/4834f36c06302a62273fc0a87f3b0693/Product/View/L4714

That, a Hauppauge HDR4000 card and Mediaportal work fine so far.

apsattv
22-05-2008, 06:32 PM
Try JSF? I'm sure if the signals in Motueka they will have it working there.

wratterus
22-05-2008, 06:39 PM
Thanks - will have a wander down there at lunchtime tomorrow. :thumbs:

apsattv
22-05-2008, 09:38 PM
Let me know what happens

wratterus
23-05-2008, 10:15 AM
Will do. :thumbs:

Nermal
23-05-2008, 11:06 AM
I haven't managed to get Freeview working reliably at my place yet, but some friends can get it perfectly yet have poor UHF reception. I'm therefore unsure how important UHF clarity is.

I'm not meaning to hijack the thread, but I did a bit of experimenting last night. How important is the polarity of the aerial? Mine's on vertical but the Freeview transmitter uses horizontal. Would it make much of a difference?

wratterus
23-05-2008, 02:42 PM
:lol:

After a lovely walk right across town in the rain - JSF are closed until 5.30 today.

Next time I will call first. :p

apsattv
23-05-2008, 07:32 PM
I'm not meaning to hijack the thread, but I did a bit of experimenting last night. How important is the polarity of the aerial? Mine's on vertical but the Freeview transmitter uses horizontal. Would it make much of a difference?

The loss of wrong polarity antenna is 8DB or more, maybe even worse especially if you have the antenna vertical and the pole is going through in line with the elements.

Nermal
24-05-2008, 01:34 PM
I have no idea whether "8DB" is a lot or just a little bit :) If distance is involved, and I suspect it is, then it'll probably help to mention that I'm about 120 km from the transmitter. I'm in Whakatane and pointing at Te Aroha, which I believe is the same transmitter used for Sky UHF.

Nermal
25-05-2008, 07:19 PM
Well, I had a friend around so we tried rotating the aerial. Freeview now works perfectly! :D

So, for anyone in Whakatane reading this, you need to be on horizontal and pointing at Te Aroha.

wratterus
26-05-2008, 02:45 PM
JSF know diddly squat it would seem.

JSF put me onto the local freeview chap, never even knew he existed... :)

wratterus
26-05-2008, 03:02 PM
http://www.freeviewshop.co.nz/digital-terrestrial-i-8.html

Theres all the transmitter locations/channels.

http://www.vhf.org.nz/Wharite

Wharite details.

apsattv
26-05-2008, 08:26 PM
Its up for experimenting then?

who wants to be a pioneer?

wratterus
27-05-2008, 02:28 PM
:p

I just need to buy an antenna and TV Tuner card for my PC, and I'm all go....

Definitely keen to give it a try. And even if it doesn't work, I'll just point it at Takaka Hill and get good mainland and Prime reception for the mean time.

Watch this space!

han308
27-05-2008, 05:13 PM
hello,

Usually I would say I'm out of luck in getting good reception where I am, so havent even tried for HD freeview but reading this thread thought it might be worth seeing.
Is there a way of checking my reception for freeview without having to buy a $300 decoder first?

I'm quite disappointed that Freeview HD has come out over UHF, as they originally promoted freeview as solving everyones poor reception problems with crystal clear TV. However thats fine it you already have a sky dish, and if you have a sky dish, them you prbably already have TV via sky. So whats the point?
How do I get HD TV when im at the bottom of a valley...?

Anyways, i'll dig out my UHF lead and see what I get...

Cheers,

Vic.

wratterus
27-05-2008, 05:20 PM
Hi Vic, you should be able to get some signal via UHF.

http://www.freeviewshop.co.nz/digital-terrestrial-i-8.html

Cicero
27-05-2008, 05:40 PM
Hi Wrattie. Nice selection of pics. I see the location of my new house in pic4. Appreciated. Will follow this thread with interest.
Here you are S,you can do your own.



http://google-earth.en.softonic.com/

apsattv
27-05-2008, 08:14 PM
hello,

Usually I would say I'm out of luck in getting good reception where I am, so havent even tried for HD freeview but reading this thread thought it might be worth seeing.
Is there a way of checking my reception for freeview without having to buy a $300 decoder first?

I'm quite disappointed that Freeview HD has come out over UHF, as they originally promoted freeview as solving everyones poor reception problems with crystal clear TV. However thats fine it you already have a sky dish, and if you have a sky dish, them you prbably already have TV via sky. So whats the point?
How do I get HD TV when im at the bottom of a valley...?

Anyways, i'll dig out my UHF lead and see what I get...

Cheers,

Vic.


Go to www.dtvforum.co.nz and post in the Wellington regional section. The thing with digital you can have a weak snowy "nothing" signal and Digital will play perfectly at the same level. Also digitals better at handling multipath signal issues.

apsattv
27-05-2008, 08:17 PM
:p

I just need to buy an antenna and TV Tuner card for my PC, and I'm all go....

Definitely keen to give it a try. And even if it doesn't work, I'll just point it at Takaka Hill and get good mainland and Prime reception for the mean time.

Watch this space!

The Digital tv via pctuner is pretty flakey at the moment. A lot of issues to do with codecs and you really need a graphics card the supports hardware h264 avc decoding. Otherwise it really hogs the cpu.

The other issue is pc tuner cards tend to have weak non sensitive tuners.

p.s Dick Smiths Richmond store had a freeview terrestrial unit on the shelf last time I was there.

wratterus
27-05-2008, 09:02 PM
Hmm ok. Thats more than slightly annoying, not keen on shelling out $400 or $500 for a HD STB (http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/483bc24507a4812a2740c0a87f3b06d1/Product/View/G7503).

The graphics card isn't a problem, do you reckon I'd have issues with a TV tuner card?

wratterus
27-05-2008, 09:18 PM
Hmm, and no MPEG4 encoding on a TV tuner card is going to cause many CPU cycles to be wasted...?

apsattv
28-05-2008, 12:13 AM
Yes as HDTV is very cpu intensive if the graphics card doesn't handle it. Check geekzone forum for more info on this subject.

wratterus
28-05-2008, 11:07 AM
Cheers.

ubergeek85
28-05-2008, 11:43 AM
You might find this thread (http://www.dtvforum.co.nz/forum/showthread.php?t=397) useful.

wratterus
28-05-2008, 01:24 PM
Cheers Geekster.

Looks like thats probably the way to go, rather than a TV Tuner.

And one of these...

http://alkrisshop.shopnz.biz/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1258&osCsid=9d993e9e6d4c5b5244dc5575f61d2ec4

wratterus
28-05-2008, 02:28 PM
OK...here we go.

Aerial (http://alkrisshop.shopnz.biz/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1258&osCsid=9d993e9e6d4c5b5244dc5575f61d2ec4)

STB (http://www.noelleeming.co.nz/tvs-dvds/tv-accessories/set-top-boxes/zinwell-zmt-620hd-digital-terrestrial-receiver/prod4558.html)

TV (and DVD Recorder) (http://www.noelleeming.co.nz/tvs-dvds/televisions/lcd-tvs/30-lcd-tv/sony-klv40v300a-40-inch-v-series-bravia-lcd-tv/prod97174.html)

:punk

R2x1
28-05-2008, 11:07 PM
That should do the trick nicely. :)

wratterus
29-05-2008, 09:33 AM
That should do the trick nicely. :)

For that price, you'd hope so! :o

apsattv
06-06-2008, 01:03 AM
any update?

wratterus
06-06-2008, 09:10 AM
I contacted freeview about it, they said we have absolutely no idea. :lol:

They also said there are no plans in the pipeline for extending the HD service in the near future.

I'm gonna have a chat to Julian, the local freeview guy, when I can get him, busy man it seems. Will keep you posted if anything interesting comes up.

Nermal
11-06-2008, 06:09 PM
They also said there are no plans in the pipeline for extending the HD service in the near future.

That's interesting, because I saw a "second phase rollout list" somewhere that supposedly listed all of the transmitters that they'll do next. I didn't pay much attention to it though, since I can already get Freeview, but it definitely listed at least one transmitter that doesn't currently have it (Mt Edgecumbe).

wratterus
12-06-2008, 02:13 PM
That's interesting, because I saw a "second phase rollout list" somewhere that supposedly listed all of the transmitters that they'll do next. I didn't pay much attention to it though, since I can already get Freeview, but it definitely listed at least one transmitter that doesn't currently have it (Mt Edgecumbe).

Yeah, I thought the same, unless they meant just for the Nelson region.

I asked them for permission to post their reply on a forum and they haven't replied, so I'll take that as a yes. :p



Hi there,

I'm in Motueka, and would be keen to get Freeview HD in time for the Olympics.

I have been looking at the possibility of tapping into the tower at Wharite, as it's line of sight - 270KM.

I was wondering if theres any techie who'd have a decent idea weather that would work or not, and the logistics of it, signal fade etc etc.

I'd be looking at getting a Zinwell ZMT-620HD, and a Alkris 91 Element high gain antenna. (ALK-91F)

I was very disappointed when the terrestrial freeview service didn't come to Nelson, I would have thought we had the population to support it. Do you have any idea on a date for the HD service starting transmission in Nelson/Motueka? I heard 2011, but don't know for sure.

Thanks for your help

Regards,
John Smith


Hi John Smith,

There are no current plans to extend Freeview|HD past the initial nine centres. Any additional coverage requires additional investment in transmission infrastructure and the economic justification to do so. Currently, it is not economic to extend the coverage past the initial nine centres. This is why a fully national Freeview satellite service was launched last year; to ensure all New Zealanders are participants in the new digital age of television. A Freeview installer or retailer will be able to assist you with what item is best to purchase.

Thanks for your enquiry
Freeview team

Cicero
12-06-2008, 02:29 PM
I contacted freeview about it, they said we have absolutely no idea. :lol:

They also said there are no plans in the pipeline for extending the HD service in the near future.

I'm gonna have a chat to Julian, the local freeview guy, when I can get him, busy man it seems. Will keep you posted if anything interesting comes up.

Are you anticipating paying $500 for box?

wratterus
12-06-2008, 02:30 PM
Hell no.

I'll be able to get one a lot cheaper than that.

Hopefully not over $400.

Cicero
12-06-2008, 02:37 PM
Hell no.

I'll be able to get one a lot cheaper than that.

Hopefully not over $400.

Can we assume you don't get reception at the moment.?

Can you be sure the box for $400 is as good as you can get?

I am told there are good and bad along with some indifferent cables!

wratterus
12-06-2008, 02:49 PM
Yeah, I'm not entirely sure yet, will have some real info after talking to the freeview installer. I'm pretty sure that Zinwell STB is one of the best out there.

nzskater
25-11-2008, 11:11 AM
How did your setup go? Did you end up getting an HD signal in the end?

wratterus
25-11-2008, 11:20 AM
Hi mate, decided not to go for it in the end, wasn't worth spending all the $$$ with such a large change of problems occouring. Bought a satellite freeview kit off trademe in the end, in the process of setting that up now.

I still think it would be possible with the right equipment, but probably better if you live on a hill. :punk

Scouse
25-11-2008, 11:33 AM
Hi Wratty. What is the benefit/s of the new scheme. I live near you - currently get beautiful 1 and 2 from Nelson direction, and equally good 3 and Prime from Mt Campbell direction. To my initial amazement, when I have the recorder switched on, recording or not recording, I can also get the Maori channel as well. It disappears when I switch the rcorder off ???? I have a Sky dish on the roof (left over from previous house owner) and have considered the move to free, but it looks like big bikkies for very little.

wratterus
25-11-2008, 11:39 AM
Ill get mine set up, and see. I guess you wouldn't be very interested in C4? if not, theres no real reason to bother, you don't get prime with freeview and it sounds like you're getting perfectly good reception as it is.

If you have a widescreen TV it would probably be worth it, but otherwise nah.