PDA

View Full Version : what OS can I run on this box??



robsonde
20-05-2008, 11:26 AM
odd question but I have a new system turning up tomorrow.....

Asus P5GC-MX Intel 945GC LGA775 800FSB
Pentium Dual Core E2180 2.0Ghz LGA775 1M Cache 800FSB
Kingston 1GB DDR2 667 PC2-5300


the Asus website says the dirvers support WinXP.

a work mate tells me that the CPU will only run WinXP-64 edition.

your thoughts???

williamF
20-05-2008, 11:32 AM
is it a 64 bit clean CPU? eg does it support true 64 bit software etc
even then it may work with 32bit winXP just a bit less performance

wratterus
20-05-2008, 11:35 AM
XP will be best, but just cause it has a 64bit processor, doesn't mean it can't run a 32bit OS! :lol:

And seeing as the only real advantage for the average PC user using 64bit windows over 32bit is that it can see more than 3.25 GB of ram, theres no point in you moving to a 64bit OS.

I'd recommend 32bit Windows XP Pro (or home) for that system.

I hope you can get an OEM license with that PC?

robsonde
20-05-2008, 11:38 AM
I'd recommend 32bit Windows XP Pro (or home) for that system.

I hope you can get an OEM license with that PC?

I hope to run 32bit Windows XP Pro , I have an unopend retail box of XP-pro.

Speedy Gonzales
20-05-2008, 11:38 AM
The drivers on the ASUS site are for 2k / 2003 / XP / XP 64 bit / Vista 32 bit / 64 bit.

So any version of Windows (from 2000 should work).

wratterus
20-05-2008, 11:49 AM
I hope to run 32bit Windows XP Pro , I have an unopend retail box of XP-pro.

Good stuff. If you wanted to put Vista on there at some stage, you'll want to install at least another gig of RAM, 2 more would be better, and a graphics card of some description with 128MB or memory or more. :2cents:

robsonde
20-05-2008, 01:00 PM
....If you wanted to put Vista on there at some stage......

I would rather put my head in a mircowave :-)

I dont expect to be running vista any time soon.


I expect to be buying more RAM as $$ allow......

notechyet
20-05-2008, 01:29 PM
I would rather put my head in a mircowave :-)
I dont expect to be running vista any time soon.
I expect to be buying more RAM as $$ allow......
Rob
What is so bad about Vista?
NT

wratterus
20-05-2008, 01:36 PM
I would rather put my head in a mircowave :-)



:lol: :lol:



I expect to be buying more RAM as $$ allow......

Sweet. RAM is cheap as dirt these days.

robsonde
20-05-2008, 01:57 PM
Rob
What is so bad about Vista?
NT

let's see.....
it runs much the same stuff as XP but needs three times as much RAM.

I have a boxed version of XP, vista cost $$ that I dont have :-)

last of all, a good number of older programs dont run to well on vista.

Chilling_Silence
20-05-2008, 06:55 PM
x64 XP never matured as well as x64 Vista has

Driver support isnt as good (even though it apparently is supported on this mobo).

Stick with 32-bit XP if you're going for XP, or if you wanna give 64-bit a whirl then go Vista / Linux! :D

beeswax34
20-05-2008, 07:12 PM
let's see.....
it runs much the same stuff as XP but needs three times as much RAM.

I have a boxed version of XP, vista cost $$ that I dont have :-)

last of all, a good number of older programs dont run to well on vista.

No and No

Vista just pre-allocated RAM so it uses it more efficiently. It just LOOKS like its using more RAM.

Its quite safe and reliable and works well overall. SP1 has helped tremendously.

SPARTAN 860
20-05-2008, 07:32 PM
It doesn't run the same stuff at all robsonde. Its got a different kernal, a revamped Networking app, and better security. Most of the changes are behind the scenes. XP is just faster because its got less that Vista. And Windows 95 is much faster because it has less again. XP is good if

a) You don't need DX 10
b) You don't need better security (UAC)
c) You have hardware made for XP
d) You just like XP :)
e) You have been put off by negative reviews of Vista and you have been waiting for SP1. Its out now, so you can get it safely :)

jwil1
20-05-2008, 08:13 PM
Its got a different kernal, a revamped Networking app, and better security.

It still uses the same NT kernel as Windows NT 3.x 4.x, 2000 and XP.

It just loads Windows differently (not using ntldr). Same kernel though.

Better (but sometime more annoying - UAC) security - yes, I agree with you there! :)

And yes SP1 is a huge help to performance under Vista.

SPARTAN 860
20-05-2008, 09:18 PM
Thanks for your correction, I thought it used a different kernel in SP1 :P. I'm not sure now though. I read somewhere that SP1 has a new kernel though, is this true? Or is it just me.

beeswax34
20-05-2008, 10:28 PM
No, I think the next version of Windows is where they will completely revamp the kernel (here's hoping!)

SPARTAN 860
20-05-2008, 10:32 PM
They will, beeswax. MinWin (Or something similar. Inventive isn't it, minature windows) is the new kernal for Windows 7. Its tiny, and its definately in Windows 7 :)

Murray P
21-05-2008, 12:27 AM
x64 XP never matured as well as x64 Vista has

Driver support isnt as good (even though it apparently is supported on this mobo).

Stick with 32-bit XP if you're going for XP, or if you wanna give 64-bit a whirl then go Vista / Linux! :D


Correct. I run XP x64 and drivers are a real pain. Can I say bastards, the whole **** kicking lot of them? Let me know if I can't, like.

Chilling_Silence
21-05-2008, 12:40 AM
BTW - Yes, the Kernel is different as of Vista SP1.

...Wikipedia is your friend :)

beeswax34
21-05-2008, 12:43 AM
BTW - Yes, the Kernel is different as of Vista SP1.

...Wikipedia is your friend :)

Ah, thats right. Its now the same kernel as Web Server 2008 or something isn't it? WHS if I remember correctly.

SPARTAN 860
21-05-2008, 09:30 PM
I though that it wasn't the same :P. I read it somewhere else, but you confused me.

Its the same as Microsoft Windows Server 2008's kernel.

Greven
21-05-2008, 10:15 PM
They will, beeswax. MinWin (Or something similar. Inventive isn't it, minature windows) is the new kernal for Windows 7. Its tiny, and its definately in Windows 7 :)

When I first heard about minwin, they were saying it was just an experimental system used for developing new technology, but although parts of it would be used everywhere, there would not be an OS based on it.

SPARTAN 860
21-05-2008, 10:36 PM
When I first heard about minwin, they were saying it was just an experimental system used for developing new technology, but although parts of it would be used everywhere, there would not be an OS based on it.

Nope, its going to be the core of Windows 7

http://blogs.zdnet.com/microsoft/?p=842

:) Now Windows will be ultra fast at booting up once more!

Chilling_Silence
23-05-2008, 11:45 AM
Haha, what a good Tui Beer ad that would make :p

An OS booting is dependant on a LOT more than just a kernel sorry bud...

Murray P
23-05-2008, 11:50 AM
Like DRM.

Chilling_Silence
24-05-2008, 01:11 AM
And processes loading, HDD speeds & fragmentation, CPU / memory speeds also play a part, just to name a few more... ;)