PDA

View Full Version : Vista upgrade : Forced clean install



sroby
19-05-2008, 04:16 PM
Hi there
Ive got a Vista Home Premium that I am upgrading to Vista Business.
I have the Vista Business upgrade disk, but it wont let me do an 'upgrade'
only a 'clean install'
MS vista upgrade web site also shows 'clean install' as being the only option
when upgrading from Home Premium to Business.

Anyone know a workaround to force an upgrade, I really dont want to have to
reload all the other software after a 'forced clean install"

wratterus
19-05-2008, 04:21 PM
No workaround that I'm aware of - do the clean install, you'll thank yourself later. Upgrading Vista can sometimes be a messy business.

pcuser42
19-05-2008, 04:47 PM
There is no way for a forced upgrade, so you may need info on doing a clean install with an upgrade disc - you can find it here (http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/winvista_upgrade_clean.asp).

Or you could purchase Vista Ultimate. :D

beeswax34
19-05-2008, 05:15 PM
Make sure to get SP1