PDA

View Full Version : No audio for Acer Aspire 5100 notebook



tonesthestudent
18-05-2008, 10:35 AM
Hi everyone, has been ages since i've posted.

My partner has a Acer Aspire 5100 (model no. BL51), running Vista Home Premium.

Somehow, there is no audio anymore. The audio control icon in the taskbar has a cross through it and when mouseover says 'No audio output device installed'.
There is also no mention of sound controller in device manager.

Also, there are regular bouts of BSOD's, they are also blurry and you can never actually read the error messages, anyone shed any light on this?

If anyone can offer assistance that would be fantastic!

Cheers,

Tones

Speedy Gonzales
18-05-2008, 10:36 AM
Go to the Acer site look for the model, download the drivers

Did it have Vista on it originally?

Post a hijackthis log, its in my sig

wainuitech
18-05-2008, 11:44 AM
Download the drivers and reinstall them - 5100 Drivers (http://support.acer-euro.com/drivers/notebook/as_5100.html) both XP and vista.

jwil1
18-05-2008, 11:58 AM
Is it enabled in the bios?

tonesthestudent
18-05-2008, 01:46 PM
Thanks for the input guys.
Will get her to give it a go in the coming hours.
How do you know if it is enabled in bios or not? (Amateur question obviously!)

To the best of my knowledge the notebook was shipped with Vista.

jwil1
18-05-2008, 03:05 PM
How do you know if it is enabled in bios or not? (Amateur question obviously!)

When it is booting up, look for the key to press to enter the BIOS (aka "Setup") - normally Delete, F2 or Esc. Press the appropriate key BEFORE it starts loading Windows.

Look for something that says "Realtek HD Audio", "AC97 Audio" and make sure it says Enabled, not Disabled.

Reboot the PC, install drivers (if the sound isn't working) and you're away!

Graham L
18-05-2008, 03:28 PM
It certainly looks as if the motherboard drivers have been lost. I would guess that the screen resolution is 640x480, and the attempt to do that on a higher resolution LCD is giving the blurring.

tonesthestudent
18-05-2008, 03:39 PM
Will get her to take a nosey at the bios too.

Graham L - Resolution is not 640x480...and the screen doesn't look blurry..

tonesthestudent
21-12-2008, 09:34 PM
When it is booting up, look for the key to press to enter the BIOS (aka "Setup") - normally Delete, F2 or Esc. Press the appropriate key BEFORE it starts loading Windows.

Look for something that says "Realtek HD Audio", "AC97 Audio" and make sure it says Enabled, not Disabled.

Reboot the PC, install drivers (if the sound isn't working) and you're away!

In bios there is only:
"PCI BEV: Realtek Boot Agent"
It's number four or five in a list and there are no options to change it...

Thoughts?

Sorry it's been a wee while since i posted, came back to a top priority of mine. Funny how life in sometimes... =]

Speedy Gonzales
21-12-2008, 10:52 PM
If you haven't tracked down the drivers yet, try here (http://support.acer-euro.com/drivers/notebook/as_5100.html)

Hopefully its Vista 32 bit not 64 bit