PDA

View Full Version : Anyone a wizz with video conversions???



joe_exception
17-05-2008, 05:38 PM
Hey all,

I'm trying to convert some HD .ts files recorded off TV3 on Freeview|HD. There's loads of information online about it but most of it either goes nowhere (and is terrifically complex) or is for MPEG2 broadcasts (common overseas but not the h264 stuff we're using in NZ).
Has anyone had any success with this and if so what was the trick? If it helps, I can do without the audio but I do need something that is going to keep the full video resolution/quality for editing. Just about any output format (except h264 ts!) will be fine.

Thanks in advance...

kahawai chaser
17-05-2008, 07:59 PM
Try "Super (http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html)" - it converts between almost all known video formats...

somebody
17-05-2008, 11:43 PM
I've been trying to do this for some time, and am yet to find something which a) works, and b) is simple to use (i.e. doesn't involve 15 steps). I'll be watching this thread with interest.

Term_X
18-05-2008, 12:53 AM
i use super as well for all of my conversion format needs.

i would be very surpirsed if it doesn't do the trick.

Bantu
18-05-2008, 10:41 AM
SUPER does not convert it properly, it tries hard though.

Not found anything that can do it and create a nice smooth video yet.

People have been asking on Mediaportal site for some time about a converter, but not seen a successful answer yet.

IF it can be done there might be mention on http://www.videohelp.com/
Our Audio in ts files are AAC whereas the rest of the world is AC3, might make a difference to conversion as far as audio goes.

There is HDTV2MPEG but it does not work with our Audio.
http://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.asp?ForumId=83&TopicId=21968

Metla
18-05-2008, 10:45 AM
Anywhere I can download a sample clip?

Bantu
18-05-2008, 11:00 AM
Anywhere I can download a sample clip?

http://www.geekzone.co.nz/Fossie
TV3 Sample. This is a true 1080i video (boston legal) with the new AAC audio.

I had no luck with this one, even Media Player could not play it.
VCL Player could play it but not well.

somebody
18-05-2008, 11:57 AM
Just played with SUPER, and can also confirm that it does not work.

plod
18-05-2008, 12:14 PM
toast 9 on the mac can edit the sample clip, so maybe one of Roxio's programs for windows can.
Visual hub can convert it, but not sure if there is a windows equivalent

trinsic
18-05-2008, 02:28 PM
People have been asking on Mediaportal site for some time about a converter, but not seen a successful answer yet.

Hah yeah. I'm in the same boat as you then. Whole lot of ts files taking up a few GB each for shows :waughh:

somebody
18-05-2008, 02:32 PM
Anyone want to trawl Norwegian forums to see if they've found a solution, since they're using the same standard as us?

Bantu
18-05-2008, 02:34 PM
Of the 4 samples I can play them in Nero Vision and get audio. I have not tried to edit them yet.
It played the Freeview HD file ok and also a C4 ts file I recorded with MediaPortal, but it would not play the Freeview HD ts file I recorded.

So mixed results so far.

Adobe Premiere does not like them.

Bantu
18-05-2008, 02:39 PM
somebody They are supposedly using the same. There was mention on the MediaPortal forum and also the Geekzone forum.

I did come across this page but not tried any of it.
http://www.hdtvtotal.com/module-pagesetter-viewpub-tid-1-pid-954.html

Bantu
18-05-2008, 03:01 PM
Nero Vision just freezes up if I try to make any cuts to any of the .ts files.

Speedy Gonzales
18-05-2008, 09:05 PM
I tried the TV3 file Bantu posted.

It does the same thing with PowerDVD 8 ultra (slow playback). You do see the pic and hear the audio tho.

joe_exception
20-05-2008, 05:16 PM
Plod, have you actually got VisualHub (on the Mac) working with the HD files or are you just assuming it will? I've got access to a Mac if needed...

Chilling_Silence
20-05-2008, 06:46 PM
A few things here:
Welcome to the world of HD, where half the PC's out there just ARENT grunty enough to playback 1080i / 1080p video!

My 2.0Ghz x64 Athlon 3200+ with 2GB Ram & a 256MB nVidia 6200 cant play back files greater than 720 res.

You need some *serious* grunt to do it!

Hearing the Audio but not video is a common trait of your CPU / GPU basically not being fast enough, as the Audio is usually what gets decoded with priority (So you can drop the odd frame and not notice it coz its only displayed for 1/30th a second, but you notice a skip in audio).

MediaPortal is based on Xbox Media Centre (XBMC) which is in turn based of mplayer.
mplayer is natively a linux app that comes with mencoder (depending on what distro and how it was compiled), and its the same encoder that SUPER is a front-end for (Or was when I last used it). Therefor, MediaPortal = The player version of SUPER ;)

Im downloading that Boston Legal sample of Geekzone to my EeePC now, will copy it to my desktop and see what I can do. Chances are its going to have to be downscaled.

beeswax34
20-05-2008, 07:13 PM
Anyone want to trawl Norwegian forums to see if they've found a solution, since they're using the same standard as us?

Ask Jan :D

Chilling_Silence
20-05-2008, 11:04 PM
K so it looks like the files not the best from what I can see...

Will post back some other results soon

sal
20-05-2008, 11:13 PM
There's a very old thread (started 2004) yet still active on the subject of HDTV to MPEG-2 conversion over at AVS Forum (http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=395744), not sure if there's any useful software being recommended over there so check out a few of the recent pages of that thread. I found it via HDTV2MPEG2 (http://www-personal.umich.edu/~balazer/HDTVtoMPEG2/).

Chilling_Silence
20-05-2008, 11:59 PM
Playback & encoding gives me a variety of errors on multiple OS's & players / decoders...


[h264 @ 0x87ed738]PAFF interlacing is not implemented
[h264 @ 0x87ed738]reference picture missing during reorder
[h264 @ 0x87ed738]reference picture missing during reorder
[h264 @ 0x87ed738]illegal short term buffer state detected
[h264 @ 0x87ed738]concealing 4080 DC, 4080 AC, 4080 MV errors
FAAD: error: Unexpected channel configuration change, trying to resync!:176]
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Invalid number of channels, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Unexpected channel configuration change, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Gain control not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: First SBR frame is not the same as first AAC frame, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Unexpected channel configuration change, trying to resync!
FAAD: Failed to decode frame: Unexpected channel configuration change
[h264 @ 0x87ed738]PAFF interlacing is not implemented
[h264 @ 0x87ed738]concealing 4080 DC, 4080 AC, 4080 MV errors
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!685:176]
FAAD: error: Unexpected channel configuration change, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Invalid number of channels, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Unexpected fill element with SBR data, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: First SBR frame is not the same as first AAC frame, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: First SBR frame is not the same as first AAC frame, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Gain control not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: error: Channel coupling not yet implemented, trying to resync!
FAAD: Failed to decode frame: Channel coupling not yet implemented

Playback of other 1080p files works better... "jumper-tlr2_h1080p.mov" works, video is slow, lags lots, but it still plays...

The .ts file of Boston Legal, 04-15_09-31-44_TV3_.ts doesnt seem to wanna play, video goes all psycho, sound is screechy and indistinguishable :(

How are you getting these .ts files? Creating them youself?

trinsic
21-05-2008, 12:47 AM
A few things here:
Welcome to the world of HD, where half the PC's out there just ARENT grunty enough to playback 1080i / 1080p video!

My 2.0Ghz x64 Athlon 3200+ with 2GB Ram & a 256MB nVidia 6200 cant play back files greater than 720 res.

You need some *serious* grunt to do it!

Not necessarily. Your GPU is what is holding you back since it doesn't have hardware decoding. nVidia 8500GT minimum is required. Right now your CPU would be trying to decode everything which it simply cannot do.

Bantu
21-05-2008, 08:32 AM
How are you getting these .ts files? Creating them youself?

Chilling
Not sure where the files are from. The link in this thread #7 is where they are from and various people have given them to Fossie from what I read there.

Windows Movie Maker seemed to actually play them but not able to edit.
Windows Media Player is supposed to play HD files but mine doesn't but maybe it is a codec thing or our NZ AAC. I do not even get Video in my Media Player.

sal
21-05-2008, 08:55 AM
As Trinsic said, playback (and probably transcoding too) of these hi-def files requires a fair bit of hardware grunt.

Chilling_Silence
21-05-2008, 12:18 PM
Agreed, however the n6200 according to the nVidia PureView page can be used with PureVideo to enable hardware decoding.

You're right though, offloading the decoding to the GPU assists greatly!

In this instance, all the machines Ive tried it on that can usually play HD files cant play this .ts file :-/

Sherman
21-05-2008, 12:34 PM
The nvidia 6xxx and 7xxx series GPU can't accelerate H.264 video, only MPEG 2. Those TS files are H.264, therefore a 6200 ain't gonna do squat.

Bantu
21-05-2008, 01:54 PM
I got a Gigabyte 8800GT 512Mb graphic card and GIGABYTE EX38T-DQ6 DDR3 Mboard, Corsair PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 2GB, Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4G 8Mb FSB1066 I would consider that to be ample grunt.

Chilling_Silence
23-05-2008, 11:43 AM
Actually, if you go here and look at the PDF:
http://www.nvidia.com/page/purevideo_support.html

You'll see that it CAN accelerate the decoding of h.264!

Bantu, as I mentioned, I cant get that sample Boston Legal file to play even on a mates system which plays full 1080p movies fine, tried with a myriad of software...

Was that taken off a Set-top box or something?

sroby
23-05-2008, 12:45 PM
Actually, if you go here and look at the PDF:
http://www.nvidia.com/page/purevideo_support.html

You'll see that it CAN accelerate the decoding of h.264!


You will need software that supports GPU hardware decoding.
Purevideo does support h.264 (although I havnt figured out how to force
my HTPC to use purevideo codec for h.264):banana

trinsic
23-05-2008, 01:32 PM
Actually, if you go here and look at the PDF:
http://www.nvidia.com/page/purevideo_support.html

You'll see that it CAN accelerate the decoding of h.264!?

They say they work but they are not dedicated like the 8 series. The 8500 and 8600 have the best hardware supported decoding. The GPU should be able to handle the entire decode with maybe 20% CPU use depending on the CPU.


Purevideo does support h.264 (although I havnt figured out how to force
my HTPC to use purevideo codec for h.264):banana

You need to use PowerDVD 8+ to allow PureVideo to hardware decode h.264.

Agent_24
23-05-2008, 06:02 PM
Have you tried MediaCoder?

Chilling_Silence
24-05-2008, 01:09 AM
Its also based on mencoder from what I understand, like SUPER...

somebody
24-05-2008, 08:12 AM
Have you tried MediaCoder?

Yes, and it doesn't work.

somebody
16-11-2008, 03:10 PM
The SVN Build of Handbrake works incredibly well ( http://download.handbrake.fr/handbrake/snapshot/HandBrake-svn1913-Win_GUI.exe) - I've been converting files using the default settings to MP4 format and so far so good (successfully tried a TV3/AAC sample, and am trying with a TV2/AAC sample now).

Good luck!

pingu45
16-11-2008, 03:19 PM
super is excellent, and another one i've found helpful is Badaboom

somebody
16-11-2008, 03:55 PM
super is excellent, and another one i've found helpful is Badaboom

Yes, but have you got it working with FreeviewHD streams?

Just an update, I just converted a 57min recording into .mp4 (default settings) and it seems to work fine. Took the file size from ~3.2gb down to ~400MB, though obviously sacrificing some quality.