PDA

View Full Version : Mozilla Firefox



Thomas01
16-05-2008, 11:56 AM
I have recently switched to Mozilla Firefox but get irritated when it cannot seem to settle down. It changes its width and jumps up and sown like the proverbial yo yo.
Eventually it does settle down and I can read the threads in PCWorld.
But I would like to be able to stop this wobbling.
Any suggestions?

John H
16-05-2008, 12:13 PM
Which version are you using Thomas? I don't get any similar symptoms on any of the three computers I run it on. I am using v2.0.0.14, but I can't recall having seen that sort of behaviour on any earlier versions.

I am running Flashblock, Adblock, and Stylish as addons, and LittleFox v1.8.28 as a theme.

Sorry I can't help.

bevy121
16-05-2008, 12:53 PM
I think you'll find it's the (horrific) layout of this forum now....

With so many ads everywhere on the page - the browser takes a pounding sorting it out.

Stylish is the answer, check out Bletches threads for the code

pcuser42
16-05-2008, 04:49 PM
Does it only happen on PressF1 or does it happen on all sites?

beeswax34
16-05-2008, 08:19 PM
Its going to be site specific NOT browser related.

Thomas01
16-05-2008, 09:01 PM
I think you'll find it's the (horrific) layout of this forum now....

With so many ads everywhere on the page - the browser takes a pounding sorting it out.

Stylish is the answer, check out Bletches threads for the code

Bang on!
I hadn't realised before but yes, it is only PCWorld that is unstable. I have just tried all over the place on different sites and there was no problem.
I guess my old many times updated computer is not fast enough to handle the adverts etc and keep things under control.
I will have to live with it or go back to Outlook Express and see how that manages.

kjaada
17-05-2008, 05:38 AM
Try the extension for Firefox called ADBLOCK PLUS it will help a lot

Thomas01
17-05-2008, 10:21 AM
Try the extension for Firefox called ADBLOCK PLUS it will help a lot

Already doing that.
It does just seem to be PCWorld and my computer combined that causes the problem. I might do the unthinkable and let my laptop have a session on the internet and see what happens.

bevy121
17-05-2008, 11:39 PM
Thomas - do you have stylish (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2108) in your FF?


Once you have it installed, and with this PressF1 page open.
Select all the code and copy it in the following code box.



@namespace url(http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);

@-moz-document domain("pressf1.pcworld.co.nz"), domain("forums.pcworld.co.nz"), domain("pressf1.co.nz") {
/*remove ads and misc branding clutter, clean up layout */
.fairfax_nav,
.newsletter_div,
#adSpace3,
#jcornerSmall,
#jcornerBig,
#advert-banner,
#header,
#navigation,
#page-peel-right-6,
.tfoot,
.sponsored_links,
table[width="160"],
td[width="180"],
td[width="170"],
td[width="300"],
div[align="center"] a[target="_new"],
div[style="width:160px; float:left;"],
div[style="width:300px; float:left; margin-right:10px; border:1px solid #cccccc; padding:5px;"],
div[style="idth:290px; float:left; margin-right:10px; border:1px solid #cccccc; padding:5px; "],
div[style="text-align:center; border:1px solid #cccccc; padding:5px; margin:0 10px;"],
div[onmouseover="peel()"],
img[alt="PC World Forums"],
embed[name="jcornerSmallObject"],
embed[umode="transparent"],
div embed,
div iframe,
object
{display: none;}
}


Go to bottom right corner and left click the "stylish" icon.

Select Write Style -> For this URL

In the Description pane type PF1 or whatever you prefer

In the large pane - right click / select all / paste

click save and refresh you page

should be much better now - only one annoying square add left at the top centre now if its the same as mine - that last one is refusing to budge LMAO

anyway - hope that's helped some

Vince
18-05-2008, 12:14 PM
I am using FF2.0.0.4 with Addblock Pluss, and get the same jumping web pages. I always thought that it was down to my being on Dialup in a Broadband world.

Speedy Gonzales
18-05-2008, 12:19 PM
The jumping used to hapen here too mostly with this forum.

In the end, I got rid of FF and went back to Opera

beeswax34
18-05-2008, 04:03 PM
So weird, nothing like that has ever happened to me.

Running FF 2.0.0.14 and FF 3b5.