PDA

View Full Version : Works



Bryden
15-05-2008, 09:53 PM
Is there a limit on how many times, or the number of computers on which you can load Works please? I have an older version (2005) which I am wanting to put onto a "spare" PC - am I permitted to do this? I do have the disk/s.

TIA

Bryden:help:

jwil1
15-05-2008, 09:57 PM
Is it the retail version or did it come with a computer (OEM)?

If the former you should be able to.

If the latter the license might be tied to that machine so no. You can tell if it's an OEM disc because it says "For distribution only with a new PC" on it.

pctek
16-05-2008, 10:36 AM
Use Open Office, its compatible with MS Office unlike Works, and its free.

tutaenui
16-05-2008, 08:40 PM
Use Open Office, its compatible with MS Office unlike Works, and its free.

Yeah and its just as buggy and slow to load!

Apart from Works4.5 that is.

Thomas01
16-05-2008, 09:10 PM
I doubt that MS will worry over the occasional user putting MSWorks on more than one machine. There must be thousands of computers scrapped that came with MSWorks, and I doubt that MS ever offered a refund.
But the version you are using is crummy.
Version 4.5 is magnificent and it went downhill from then onwards.
I have later versions but 4.5 is the one (like most people) I prefer. Fast, efficient, and dead easy to use.

Now there's a point - a relation has just bought a new computer with the latest version of MSWorks and I have tried to use it to show her how to operate with it and failed dismally. It's junk. So I reckon I could give her an old version (4.5) and take the new one off.
Even MS should be happy with that.