PDA

View Full Version : Possible power supply issue?



Overdrive_5000
15-05-2008, 09:06 PM
Hi all, my pc has recently started powering off when ever I try to play games (although it has been know to power off when just sitting idle too), its definitely not a temperature related problem. Im pretty sure its the power supply on its way out its a 500w Raidmax that came with my case.

I had a look at the voltages in Everest and this it what it showed up.

Voltage Values:
CPU Core 2.32 V
+2.5V - 2.77 V
+3.3V - 3.28 V
+5V - 4.89 V
+12V - 0.58 V
+5V Standby - 4.95 V


Shouldnt the +12V reading actually be around 12v not 0.58V ?

PC specs:
Core 2 duo E6600 2.4Ghz
4Gb Ram
Gigabyte 965g-ds3 mobo
8800GTS video card
300Gb SATA Hdd
Windows Vista Home premium 32bit


Any suggestions would be appreciated

stormdragon
15-05-2008, 09:21 PM
Think you'll find Everest wasn't detecting it correctly. Don't think you'd be able to run you computer with that lower Voltage on the 12V rail.

Got a multimeter? You could use one of those to check the Voltage and Amperage being output by the PSU.

Overdrive_5000
15-05-2008, 09:25 PM
Yep I have a multimeter, will have to check tomorrow, thanks for your reply

Agent_24
15-05-2008, 09:56 PM
Think you'll find Everest wasn't detecting it correctly. Don't think you'd be able to run you computer with that lower Voltage on the 12V rail.

It's a certainty that the PC would not be running if the 12v rail was only 0.5v, it's definitely everest reading it wrong.

For accurate voltage measurement forget about software and use a voltmeter, although that isn't a very good way to test a PSU. (http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/410)


Bottom line is that Raidmax PSUs are pretty cheap and your system is pretty demanding. It's very likely just switching off due to being overloaded. You're lucky it's not a hyena, it probably would have exploded by now...

tweak'e
15-05-2008, 10:18 PM
everest free version is very old now and not suprising to read incorrect.

what you really need to know is if the voltage dips or not. faulty ones can read find but often you will see a dip just before it crashes.

Overdrive_5000
15-05-2008, 10:42 PM
Ok so maybe I should buy a decent brand like enermax a 650w one maybe ?

SolMiester
16-05-2008, 09:12 AM
Ok so maybe I should buy a decent brand like enermax a 650w one maybe ?

Could be a bit naughty, but I have just placed a brand new (RMA refund) Silverstone 650W on trade-me, has all both 8 & 6 pins for graphics and a hugh 54a single rail....

kersonan
16-05-2008, 09:25 AM
I've always had good times with ACBell PSU's , seconding Hyena being garbage.

wratterus
16-05-2008, 09:35 AM
Lol, good deal on that PSU, you should get it overdrive. :punk

Agent_24
16-05-2008, 01:05 PM
Yep that's a nice PSU, and good price too

ubergeek85
16-05-2008, 01:15 PM
Could be a bit naughty, but I have just placed a brand new (RMA refund) Silverstone 650W on trade-me, has all both 8 & 6 pins for graphics and a hugh 54a single rail....

I think I speak for everyone here when I say... JESUS CHRIST! 54 amps! Woo! Auction number?

pctek
16-05-2008, 01:20 PM
I had one of those. It died after 4 days and took my graphics card with it.

Agent_24
16-05-2008, 01:24 PM
Stupid double post

Agent_24
16-05-2008, 01:26 PM
I had one of those. It died after 4 days and took my graphics card with it.

Ouch, that sucks - but 4 days it shouldn't do that, must have had a pretty bad fault


I think I speak for everyone here when I say... JESUS CHRIST! 54 amps! Woo! Auction number?

You think that's a lot? The corsair HX1000 gives you 80A :D

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=89

Even his load tester can't draw that much current :horrified

Overdrive_5000
16-05-2008, 02:02 PM
Could be a bit naughty, but I have just placed a brand new (RMA refund) Silverstone 650W on trade-me, has all both 8 & 6 pins for graphics and a hugh 54a single rail....

If I buy your power supply any chance you could courier it for Saturday delivery, cos mine has packed up now, was a nice loud bang and now turns off as soon as it turns on

ubergeek85
16-05-2008, 02:16 PM
Is it smoking? (http://www.techtales.com/1998_07_tftcontent.html#tale31)

Agent_24
16-05-2008, 03:49 PM
If I buy your power supply any chance you could courier it for Saturday delivery, cos mine has packed up now, was a nice loud bang and now turns off as soon as it turns on

It went bang and you still tried turning it on? :waughh:

Overdrive_5000
16-05-2008, 04:09 PM
yeah Im pretty sure it was the power supply that went bang, it seems to be working again at the moment which is weird

also have been checking the voltages today and the +12v reading seems to be fluctuating a fair bit goes from +12.20 down to 11.70v

Agent_24
16-05-2008, 04:14 PM
yeah Im pretty sure it was the power supply that went bang, it seems to be working again at the moment which is weird

also have been checking the voltages today and the +12v reading seems to be fluctuating a fair bit goes from +12.20 down to 11.70v

You're lucky your computer still works. :stare:

If the PSU is going bang, the voltage is dropping... TURN IT OFF. NOW.

Take it out of the PC and do not use it. At the very least you could easily ruin your PC, at worst it's a fire hazard.

Graham L
16-05-2008, 04:19 PM
Is the CPU fan turning? :cool:

Overdrive_5000
16-05-2008, 05:18 PM
I think the bang was tied up with the power supply fan because its not working

Overdrive_5000
16-05-2008, 05:21 PM
Is the CPU fan turning? :cool:

all fans are working except for the power supply fan. I'm using my iPod touch to post on here