PDA

View Full Version : AVAST HOME + XP



A Team
15-05-2008, 07:21 PM
Hi, All. I have just got so sick of AVG 8.0 (Free) and their forum gives no answers only consistent 'issues'. I have succumbed, and downloaded and installed Avast Home (Free).

Can someone with more experience than I answer the following;
Avast does not seem to retain the 'to be scanned' areas / drives, even though I set it to 'C' drive. Is that what it should do?
Although there is mention of it in the 'Help', it does not appear that the user can schedule a scan. Is that confined to the professional version?
Therefore, is the only method of scanning, manual?
Does it automatically scan incoming and outgoing e-mail?
How can I check?
It appears that Avast checks their website for updates every 4 hours. Is that 4 hours, or 4 hours of connected (on dialup) time?
Thanks.

Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 07:29 PM
Avast does not seem to retain the 'to be scanned' areas / drives, even though I set it to 'C' drive. Is that what it should do?

I think so


Although there is mention of it in the 'Help', it does not appear that the user can schedule a scan. Is that confined to the professional version?

Yup, thats only in the Pro version


Therefore, is the only method of scanning, manual?

Umm, yer I spose so, either by running Avast from the menu. Or right mouse on a hdd, then scan.


Does it automatically scan incoming and outgoing e-mail? How can I check?

Should do, open OL or OL Express the globe spins. Right mouse on the a in the taskbar / on access protection / details. If Internet Mail is enabled it scans incoming and outgoing email.


It appears that Avast checks their website for updates every 4 hours. Is that 4 hours, or 4 hours of connected (on dialup) time?

Pass, I'm on BB, and it updates more often than every 4 hrs. If there's an update

The differences between Home and Pro are here (http://avast.com/eng/avast-compare-home-professional.html)

A Team
15-05-2008, 07:43 PM
Thanks, Speedy G.
Questions arising;
It appears I could run a schedule scan via XP Scheduler. Any idea which 'exe' file I should use?
Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 07:48 PM
Umm might be ashavast.exe??

Altho the file you need may only be in the Pro version

Soon find out if it'll work or not

A Team
15-05-2008, 08:12 PM
Nah. Tried that one and every other 'exe' file in the directory. None did the business. Is there a way I can identify the file behind the 'Start' button?

Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 08:18 PM
What? What file behind the start button. I would give up.

If you want the option, buy the Pro version.

A Team
15-05-2008, 08:21 PM
Ta

Joe Blogs
15-05-2008, 08:25 PM
Although there is mention of it in the 'Help', it does not appear that the user can schedule a scan. Is that confined to the professional version?
Therefore, is the only method of scanning, manual?
You can schedule avast (pro and free version)to scan when your screen saver is running.
Right click your desktop,
properties,
screen saver tab,
select avast
and configure from there

Agent_24
15-05-2008, 08:49 PM
If you don't like Avast or AVG, you could give AntiVir Free a try

www.freeav.com

beeswax34
15-05-2008, 09:19 PM
Try this .exe to scan:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe

JonB
16-05-2008, 07:54 PM
Use Windows Scheduler in XP to set up an auto-scan using Avast Home.

See this URL for full details, works like a charm.................
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=3796

JonB

A Team
16-05-2008, 08:16 PM
Thanks, Jon B. Great idea, but I've run into the password problem in Windows. I'm the only user and don't need a password, but can't load a scheduled task without one, then I have to logon at bootup with the password!!!

Thanks, Joe Blogs. Yours is also a good idea, but if your screensaver turns on after, say 20 mins, you wouldn't want to be scanning every 20 mins would you?

Cheers