PDA

View Full Version : Did anyone update Avast to 4.8.1195



Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 10:17 AM
The other day / last night, and notice that after you rebooted, it said something like access denied writing to the registry??

It brings up like a dos window, bottom right in the taskbar.

Its either XP SP3, or Avast. Since both of these have SP3 on them. And this same message appeared on both.

wratterus
15-05-2008, 10:19 AM
Same here! Was on a customers PC, I was slightly concerned about it at first, but it didn't happen again.

Any ideas what caused it? Maybe just a random SP3/Avast bug.

Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 10:25 AM
I thought it was another program that was running on startup as well.

So, I disabled it / removed it from the startup menu.

Uninstalled Avast then rebooted, deleted the Avast folder/s, then reinstalled Avast again. Same message.

So, it wasnt the other program, that was blocking access.

Might have to send an email to Avast, or check out their forum.

kersonan
15-05-2008, 10:54 AM
Did the update didnt notice anything new/or matching what you describe on Sp2 XP box, must be Sp3

Zippity
15-05-2008, 11:09 AM
Just upgraded with no problems :)

I running Avast 4.8 Professional

Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 12:19 PM
This is what you see (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/avast.jpg)

It looks like a permission prob.

SolMiester
15-05-2008, 12:33 PM
I did an Avast install last night then install sp3 on top, no issues

Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 12:52 PM
Wrat, did your customer slipstream SP3 on the CD / was it installed as part of the install.

Or was SP3 installed AFTER they updated to the latest version of Avast??

I've joined the Avast forum, here's my post (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=35487.0)

According to the guy who's replying this message used to appear on beta versions (which this isnt, I think), not release versions.

wratterus
15-05-2008, 01:32 PM
Nah, it was an old install, I upgraded from SP2, did windows updates etc, removed nortons and put Avast on for him.

Will keep an eye on that Avast forum Paul. ;)

ruup
15-05-2008, 02:01 PM
Updated as per normal,nothing unusual,running Avast professional and SP3
cheers
ruup

gary67
15-05-2008, 07:18 PM
Running new avast as from last night and sp3 as from last week no issues here on any of the 3 machines we have

Speedy Gonzales
15-05-2008, 07:32 PM
Hmm ok well there's another user (who posted another thread), on the Avast forum.

With a similar msg to the one I posted (but not with the same files I posted).

So, at least I know I'm not the only one who got / saw this error.

But it looks like Avast is still working (well its still running).

Guess I'll have to wait, till one of the techs reply to my thread or the other thread, this guy posted

Speedy Gonzales
17-05-2008, 07:29 AM
Avast 4.8.1201 has just come out, which deals with some of the issues, some people have posted in the Avast forum.

Looks like it fixed the issue I posted in here too. I uninstalled 1195, used the uninstall tool in safe mode. Reinstalled 1201, and there was no access denied message !

However, there maybe a conflict or prob, with Avast (1195 and 1201) with Nitro PDF Pro, on startup. It seems to crash / terminate this program, after you install Avast, and reboot. But its fine after that.

fnphoto
17-05-2008, 07:42 AM
I'm running Avast 4.8.1195 on this machine with SP3 installed (after updating Avast) & have had no problems or error messages at all.