PDA

View Full Version : Malware? ad.adtegrity.net



Ming S
14-05-2008, 05:21 PM
Running Windows XP with Norton Internet Security 07, and use Firefox for browsing.

Two popups now appear whenever I go online, one for 'El Toro' downloader and one for local weather system - but there are no corresponding sites in my approved for popups list. Their tabs have the web address http://ad.adtegrity.net. "not found" is all that shows if I go to that address.

Tried doing a Norton system scan, but it was disabled part way through and the system shut down.

Then updated Spybot and tried to run that, but again scan was disabled and system shut down.

Now Norton is not booting up when I start the notebook.

Did an online search for ad.adtegrity.net but couldn't find anything that makes sense. No luck on Symantec site either.

I'm sure it's some malware of some sort, but without knowing its name I don't know where to start to get rid of it.

Any suggestions gratefully received ...

Speedy Gonzales
14-05-2008, 05:23 PM
Post a hijackthis log, its in my sig below.

Get trojan remover and rogueremover as well, theyre in my sig.

Install and update both, then click on scan

Ming S
15-06-2008, 10:40 PM
Thanks for your suggestions. Neither HiJackThis nor RogueRemover will work - they both come up with "This application has failed to start because MSVBVM60.DLL was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."

I have searched for the relevant .dll file and it is located where it should be.

Norton did finally manage a full system scan with nothing detected. Trojan Remover did not find anything.

Any more suggestions gratefully received.

Speedy Gonzales
15-06-2008, 10:50 PM
Will hijackthis install?? Or does it need that file too??

beeswax34
15-06-2008, 11:22 PM
Try installing NOD32 AV. Hopefully that should install and take care of some of the nasties if not all.

Ming S
02-07-2008, 11:01 AM
Finally managed to get rid of malware - good
Carefully wrote down name of malware on notepad.txt and saved - good
Went to upgrade to Norton Internet Security 2008 - very, very bad

Laptop now cannot boot up. Norton GoBack is installed, but when I press <spacebar> to enter it says there are no past points to restore to (although I re-booted especially before the IS08 install).

If I allow bootup to continue, it gets as far as the Windows xp loading screen and then shuts down and begins re-start again.

Any suggestions as to how to be able to get the computer going again would be really appreciated. Will post this as new thread as well.

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
02-07-2008, 11:07 AM
Get rid of Nortons - bad

Is XP SP3 installed?? This may have caused the restarting after you installed Symantec's firewall.

Ming S
02-07-2008, 11:13 AM
Think on XP SP2, but can't check as can't boot laptop ..!