PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of building a new PC - your experiences and recommendations please?

Chikara
03-05-2008, 08:09 PM
Hi all,

I'm starting to plan ahead, in a few months time I'll be ready to replace my aging PC.

I'm considering trying to build my own. I haven't yet decided on specs, I'll do that over the next few months.
I've never built a PC before, and I would say my existing knowledge levels on hardware etc. are average only. I've replaced a few video cards and really, that's it.

So my questions for you are:

1) Would you suggest it is a good idea to attempt to build one myself? Or would I really need to be a lot more experienced with dealing with hardware?

2) If not, any recommendations for brands? Or should I just get a shop to custom-build. My work usually uses Dells and the IT guys at work rate them quite highly...

3) If you *do* think I should try and build my own, can you recommend any good websites or resources, that would have tips and instructions, and also ideally details on what you need to check to make sure parts are compatible with each other. I know there's the Project Beast articles in the mag, I've also been having a look at www.tomshardware.com what other resources would you recommend?

4) Sourcing parts - those of you who build PC's, do you try and get the cheapest price you can for each part, even if that involves multiple suppliers and multiple postage costs?
Or is it not worth the hassle of shopping around for each individual component, and just get them all from one suppler? What stores/websites would you recommend/avoid?

5) Op system. Without getting too much into the whole XP vs Vista argument, if I do decide to go with Vista, would it be easier/cheaper to install my existing XP disc, and then purchase the Vista upgrade and do an upgrade installation? Instead of having to pay more to buy the full Vista?