PDA

View Full Version : Wanna REAL gaming machine



Speedy Gonzales
24-04-2008, 01:48 PM
Check this out (http://www.nzherald.co.nz/section/story.cfm?c_id=5&objectid=10505967)

If you can afford it, (or if you own the power company), this supports dual QUAD core (LGA 771 not LGA 775), so up to 8 CPU cores

But be prepared to pay around $1150 just for the mobo.

The ram is also different to normal DDR ram, so will cost a lot more

And it may need a 1200 W PSU :cool:

trinsic
24-04-2008, 02:10 PM
Yeah LGA771 is going to be the new server based socket for Xeon processors.

Complete waste of money.

LGA715 is going to be the new desktop socket for people wondering :)
Best thing about it is it will be incorporating on-die memory controllers much like AMD has since Athlon days.

Deathwish
24-04-2008, 02:13 PM
Wow, what OS do you use on this monster to make use of all that super sexy hardware? O_O On a side note, what an awesome CPU score. Thats more than my entire system :( But isn't the 3dmark '06 score (~17k) a little low for a system like that? I suppose the reviewer like most of us, just didn't have a few identical graphics cards lying around.

Erayd
24-04-2008, 02:30 PM
Wow, what OS do you use on this monster to make use of all that super sexy hardware?

Linux :D

somebody
24-04-2008, 02:44 PM
Linux :D

Fantastic. You have an OS which can take advantage of the hardware, but isn't capable of handling the latest games.

I suppose you could use it for 3D movie effects rendering though...

wratterus
24-04-2008, 02:46 PM
Wow.

:drool :drool :drool :drool :drool

Battleneter2
24-04-2008, 02:47 PM
""Firing up a borrowed copy of Crysis, the latest and greatest first-person PC shooter which is notorious for bringing even the most powerful PCs to their knees, the Skulltrail barely broke a sweat as I blasted my way through the games first levels.""


What a load of drivel, seems like this article was written by the PR department at Intel.

Agent_24
24-04-2008, 02:56 PM
Did they mention what settings they were using? was it maximum everything including resolution? probably wasn't...

Speaking of high priced hardware, a friend of mine was talking about getting a laptop that he could play games on fairly well.

He had been looking at a dell, which was about $1900 with a geforce 8600M GT.

I decided to look at alienware to see what they had (always heard they had fast stuff)

They had a laptop almost identical to the Dell, with 1GB less ram and 80GB hdd instead of 320GB, and was about $4000.

I know which one I would buy...

jwil1
24-04-2008, 02:57 PM
FOUR high-end graphics cards at least! :eek:

WHY?

But the mb only supports a max of 8GB RAM (that's only 1GB per core!)

Would've thought at least 16 :lol:

Agent_24
24-04-2008, 03:02 PM
FOUR high-end graphics cards at least! :eek:

WHY?

But the mb only supports a max of 8GB RAM (that's only 1GB per core!)

Would've thought at least 16 :lol:

I wouldn't mind 4 high end graphics cards... :D

SolMiester
24-04-2008, 03:10 PM
""Firing up a borrowed copy of Crysis, the latest and greatest first-person PC shooter which is notorious for bringing even the most powerful PCs to their knees, the Skulltrail barely broke a sweat as I blasted my way through the games first levels.""


What a load of drivel, seems like this article was written by the PR department at Intel.

Yes I concur, Anandtech for some reason has been doing alot of reviews using this board......silly thing is, the Quad core board are a better bet as they use DDR3 RAM, this thing is using high latency FBDimms, like my servers......
I believe Anand use this because it will do crossfire & SLI on the same platform.

Battleneter2
24-04-2008, 03:10 PM
FOUR high-end graphics cards at least! :eek:

WHY?

But the mb only supports a max of 8GB RAM (that's only 1GB per core!)

Would've thought at least 16 :lol:


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXlR-Sjwg4w

pctek
24-04-2008, 03:15 PM
Wow, what OS do you use on this monster to make use of all that super sexy hardware?

DOS :D

wratterus
24-04-2008, 03:28 PM
I'll rephrase me earlier droolage.

That would be a nice machine for rendering off video.

And some more RAM would be good, like 2GB per core.

Deathwish
24-04-2008, 04:12 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXlR-Sjwg4w

nice system, but what the heck is that aussie saying at ~2min point? "All I can say is quad SLI is woot and Crysis is woot" ?

GeneralKanos
24-04-2008, 04:28 PM
He said that crysis is "Whooped"
As in "lets open a can of Whoop @rse on crysis"

Deathwish
24-04-2008, 06:12 PM
Thanks, that makes alot more sense than what I thought he said :)

GeneralKanos
24-04-2008, 06:15 PM
And seriously....He really did whoop Crysis... I mean that is sweet rendering power man. But would anyone REALLY spend like $4-5000 on a pc?
Quad SLI is overkill man....

Nomad
24-04-2008, 06:19 PM
And seriously....He really did whoop Crysis... I mean that is sweet rendering power man. But would anyone REALLY spend like $4-5000 on a pc?
Quad SLI is overkill man....

There are people that spend $3,000.
Laptops for that same high end could be up to $5,000.

One of my laptops wasn't fast, builtin video, just above avg CPU cos it was a portable (ultra) design valued at $4,500 which I bought it 1yr used for $2,500.

Doesn't appliance stores sell some family PCs (specd) for around $4,500?

vitalstatistix
24-04-2008, 06:20 PM
Check this out (http://www.nzherald.co.nz/section/story.cfm?c_id=5&objectid=10505967)

If you can afford it, (or if you own the power company), this supports dual QUAD core (LGA 771 not LGA 775), so up to 8 CPU cores

But be prepared to pay around $1150 just for the mobo.

The ram is also different to normal DDR ram, so will cost a lot more

And it may need a 1200 W PSU :cool:

I'm not even a gamer and I'm impressed by that review :thumbs: Only thing Pat missed was the price for the whole setup rather than just the mother board.



Doesn't appliance stores sell some family PCs (specd) for around $4,500?

That would be a fairly average price at the higher end for Hardly Normals although its not even the top end.

GeneralKanos
24-04-2008, 06:37 PM
Yea but appliance stores always put a massive markup on PC's. If you were to build one it would be alot cheaper

GeneralKanos
24-04-2008, 06:45 PM
Im just thinking too... Wouldnt the skulltrail technically need a 128bit OS to fully utilize the 8 cores?

vitalstatistix
24-04-2008, 06:50 PM
Not at all. There is a dual 6 cored CPU in the latest Mac Pro tower which will do 32GB of RAM (if you can afford it) and OS X is only 64bit.

SolMiester
24-04-2008, 06:58 PM
And seriously....He really did whoop Crysis... I mean that is sweet rendering power man. But would anyone REALLY spend like $4-5000 on a pc?
Quad SLI is overkill man....

Well, the guy was using a 30" monitor......With a 30" monitor, Quad SLI might be option as this is where SLI excels. High Res, high IQ filters
thats like 2560*1600 native, although he was using 1650*1050 1st.

If you want to see a better review of Skultrail Quad SLI try clicky (http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3271)

SPARTAN 860
24-04-2008, 09:33 PM
I spent quite a bit on my system, but nowhere near $5000... and as for the systen, what do u mean it didn't break a sweat on crysis? Try max settings and 16x aa, then it will start stressing. Even 3 way SLI with 9800GX2 only gets 35 fps. What cards are they using anyway. I call 'not breaking a sweat' 70 fps+. Anything below is trying hard :D

beeswax34
24-04-2008, 10:23 PM
You need a minimum of four GFX cards? Thats what I thought the article said.

So if you only put in 3 or 2 (gasp), what would happen? Just wouldn't boot up?

rob_on_guitar
24-04-2008, 10:25 PM
Funny how some of you immediately try and think of things wrong with it! lol

I think there was movement in my pants hahahaha

Lawrence
27-04-2008, 10:02 AM
Some more info on this rig http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,2255603,00.asp