PDA

View Full Version : Matching Monitor to the Graphics card



Tony.br
21-04-2008, 11:52 AM
A few days ago I posted a query about the ability of a 64 meg Gigabyte MX440-8X graphics card to handle the 1680 x 1050 native resolution as used in most 20" wide screem monitors which I had "hoped" to buy.

Several of you kindly responded and said that according to the nVidea specs that card should be capable of 2048 x 1536 max but that I may need to upgrade to the latest Drivers.

I hunted and found further information that confirned this, so I downloaded and installed the drivers, then to be sure, I downloaded and installed the drivers for the Monitor model that I was interested in. (a Philips 200BW8 as it happens)

However, nothing I could do would get me more that 1600 x 1024

A friend then lent me a used but good 128 meg Gigabyte card which is 6600 GT based. I downloaded and install the correct drivers for it and rebooted the system.

The new Graphics card was correctly recognised so I then reinstalled the Monitor Drivers. Everything checks as working correctly but I still cannot get to the correct resolution. I am still restricted to 1600 x 1024.

I wonder if any of you have any further thoughts.

Many Thanks in advance

Thebananamonkey
21-04-2008, 12:09 PM
Could be the monitors top supported resolution is 1600 x 1024. Which wouldn't surprise me at all.

FoxyMX
21-04-2008, 12:10 PM
What cable are you using? If it is a DVI cable you may have the wrong kind. Try using an analogue cable.

AvonBill
21-04-2008, 12:29 PM
My experience along similar lines has been that the resolution that I wanted did NOT show up until I actually plugged in a monitor that supported that resolution. It may be the same for you!
I was in the fortunate position of being able to borrow a 1680*1050 monitor. When I plugged it in and restarted the PC, this resolution appeared as a choice. Before that, the highest resolution listed was 1280*1024 (I had a reasonably good 15" CRT which my wife wanted me to ditch - was happy to oblige!) There were a bunch of other resolutions in between that also appeared. I then went out and bought my new 1680*1050 monitor and it has worked fine on this machine. It has an old TNT Riva graphics card with only 32MB onboard!
By the way, I bought a Viewsonic VX1940W - the worlds first 19" widescreen monitor with a native resolution of 1680*1050 - it's fantastic if you want a screen smaller than 20" or 22".

Tony.br
21-04-2008, 12:51 PM
Thanks for the comments fellas. They are very much appreciated

thebananamonkey - I had a look at the monitor INF file and 1680 x 1050 was definately the option provided. :badpc:

FoxyMX - I am using analogue at the moment The present monitor is the best 17" flat screen that Philips produced before LCD's arrived. :nerd:

AvonBill - Now you have stunned me. I must confess that I hadnt even considered that as an option. :thanks


Now where the hell do I find a 20" wide screen monitor to try..... :D

Driftwood
21-04-2008, 12:53 PM
Are you actually using the Philips 200BW8 or are you try to get that resolution on something else?

Driftwood
21-04-2008, 12:55 PM
I guess not.

AvonBill
21-04-2008, 02:08 PM
Now where the hell do I find a 20" wide screen monitor to try..... :D

Take your PC along to a friendly computer store - if you have one.

FoxyMX
21-04-2008, 02:17 PM
A few days ago I posted a query about the ability of a 64 meg Gigabyte MX440-8X graphics card to handle the 1680 x 1050 native resolution as used in most 20" wide screem monitors which I had "hoped" to buy.


Sorry, I didn't read the original question properly. I thought you already had the 1680 x 1050 monitor and couldn't get it to work at that resolution. :blush:

AvonBill's advice is most likely what the issue is - you probably need to plug in a 20" monitor before it will allow you to select that resolution.

Tony.br
21-04-2008, 03:21 PM
Thank you everyone for your help It is very much appreciated

Sadly, none of the computer places here have any monitors like that, so sadly that is not an option.

I leaves me with the choice of ordering the Monitor and hope like hell it works or forget the wide screen and get a 1280 x 1024 format 19" which are about the same price

Decisions, decisions :D

Tony.br
22-04-2008, 03:48 PM
Just an update....

I discovered a bug in the Nvideo 6600 driver

When I fitted that card and the drivers were detected, all went well UNTIL I ran Microsoft Messenger and then Windows slowed down to the point I had to reboot out of it

I swapped back and forth between the MX440 and 6600 cards several times and the same thing happened both times so I removed the 6600 drivers and reverted

Then I remembered my friend had offerered me 2 cards

The other was a generic ATI 9550 256 meg card so I installed this and loaded the catalist Drivers. I then loaded the Philips Wide screen driver then rebooted and would you believe, the 1660 x 1050 option is there :clap

I am delighted as this means I can buy the widescreen monitor I wanted

Many thanks for the help Guys

Neil McC
22-04-2008, 04:27 PM
Anytime bro.