PDA

View Full Version : Network Error (tcp_error)



rixth
17-04-2008, 06:53 PM
Hi guys,

I get this error from time to time. I don't believe it's thrown up by my browser, or by the server on the other end but by a router in between. I get this on sites like CNN, eBay etc intermittently. Big sites, that I doubt are suffering downtime. I also get it sometimes on smaller sites.

Can anyone shed some light on the origin of this?

Screenshot: http://i28.tinypic.com/b7gm1j.png


Network Error (tcp_error)

A communication error occurred: ""
The Web Server may be down, too busy, or experiencing other problems preventing it from responding to requests. You may wish to try again at a later time.

For assistance, contact your network support team.

Speedy Gonzales
17-04-2008, 06:58 PM
Try the replies here (http://www.websecurity.mobi/computer-help/437-can-t-enter-site-like-microsoft-others.html)

rixth
17-04-2008, 07:06 PM
Flushing the DNS cache worked.

That page detailed how to do it on mac & linux too, indicating it's not just a windows error. So this message is indeed thrown up by a computer that is not mine, nor the web server, but somewhere in between?

Speedy Gonzales
17-04-2008, 07:16 PM
It probably happens if a PC is connected to the net and has a browser (any browser).

And yup it doesnt matter what the OS is

Safari
17-04-2008, 09:43 PM
Some more information about this issue at this link.
http://vlaurie.com/computers2/Articles/dnscache.htm

If you reboot the computer it will clear out the DNS cache.

The default time period for keeping an address in the cache is 24 hours. Another more common problem can arise from URLs that are temporarily busy or from congested Internet traffic. If a negative response is received from an attempt to connect, that result is also kept in the local cache. The default time period for retaining a negative response is five minutes.