PDA

View Full Version : Hard Drive Upgrade Problems



a helpless random
12-04-2008, 09:56 AM
Hi
i just got a new 500gb sata HDD from here (http://www.playtech.co.nz/product.php?action=showdetail&id=4265) and have put it in my pc (see signature) but i want to keep my 80gb as a slave(dual boot) but i install a lot of BIG stuff and it wont fit on 80gb as primary win drive so i need a way to clone the contents completely to my 500gb so it is primary boot drive so i can install more stuff. i tried with a tool on hirens bootcd 9.3 and it took like 2 hours to copy and then windows was corrupt:horrified so im currently using the 80gb as master and the 500gb as slave. does anyone have any ideas on how i could clone the contents from 80gb to 500gb without corrupting windows?
any ideas appreciated,
thanks:cool:

EviLClouD
12-04-2008, 10:19 AM
Try this
Seagate DiscWizard (http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?locale=en-US&name=DiscWizard&vgnextoid=d9fd4a3cdde5c010VgnVCM100000dd04090aRCRD )
Most hard drive manufacturer's usually have their own software to help format and transfer files from exisiting hard drive to new one's.

a helpless random
12-04-2008, 08:18 PM
Try this
Seagate DiscWizard (http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?locale=en-US&name=DiscWizard&vgnextoid=d9fd4a3cdde5c010VgnVCM100000dd04090aRCRD )
Most hard drive manufacturer's usually have their own software to help format and transfer files from exisiting hard drive to new one's.

Thanks i will try it now, seems so obvious, i guess i didnt bother looking because usually manufacturers dont hav there own tools.
thanks

Speedy Gonzales
12-04-2008, 08:20 PM
Well actually they do, you didnt look

zcc
13-04-2008, 12:32 AM
I used that product a couple of weeks back and it worked well.
I had to use bcedit to fix my boot loader for vista, and it all worked.

Very handy tool, and I am about to go completely seagate as my WDC 500 gig drive just carked it and the warranty was 1 yr (now 3), but seagates has been 5 yrs for hard drives for a long time (apparently).