PDA

View Full Version : Cannot play .ts-files



optusone
31-03-2008, 11:51 AM
Im`recording a TV program from a digital receiver to an external hard drive.When I connect this hard drive to my computer and try to play the recording,it tells me cannot play a .ts file.I tried it with Windows Media Player and VLC player,nothing works.My system is XP home.What can I do ?

wratterus
31-03-2008, 11:57 AM
Would it need converting to a .mpeg or .avi or something?

Most media players won't play transport stream files, although I thought VLC did.

What does the recording software your using say about it?

Womble (http://www.womble.com/download/) will convert it, but it's not free. I dunno if a free program like Super would do it.

Speedy Gonzales
31-03-2008, 11:58 AM
You may have to convert it to Mpeg format.

See if Super can do it (http://www.erightsoft.com/S6Kg1.html)

Link is on the bottom of the page

wainuitech
31-03-2008, 12:00 PM
According to This article (http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/how_to_play_ts_files.cfm) VLC player will play .ts files, - it explains how

CYaBro
31-03-2008, 12:42 PM
Yes I've never had a problem with VLC playing .ts files.
But it could be the type of codec that is being used in the .ts file.
What are you recording?

psycik
31-03-2008, 01:54 PM
If these are from the dvb-t broadcast currently happening over here, I've had problems with vlc trying to play these files. Not sure whether it's the h.264 bit it doesn't like or the aac audio...

I tried recording CSI last night off DVB-T to get a nice 1080i video, but nothing I've got will play it.....

Bantu
31-03-2008, 03:10 PM
If you are recording with MediaPortal it records in .ts and can playback the .ts files.

optusone
07-04-2008, 11:17 AM
IŽm recording Freeview New Zealand(no high definition) via Digital Receiver (UltraPlus780micro) onto an external hard drive.The user manual for this receiver says:TransportStream=MPEG2 ISO/IEC13818 , ProfileLevel=MPEG2 MP@ML
When I connect the external hard drive to my computer(XP home) and try to playback,the small VLC-window comes up and the little cursor in it does move,but no picture builds up.If I go on the "Audio" or "Video" bar,it says "empty".

jermsie
07-04-2008, 12:56 PM
You will most likely need to install the h.264 codec from some place.

wratterus
07-04-2008, 01:34 PM
Install K-Lite Codec Pack 3.8.5 FULL - Thats got the h.264 coded bundled with it. (I'm pretty sure).

http://www.free-codecs.com/K_lite_codec_pack_download.htm