PDA

View Full Version : VCORE voltage level low



Tony
29-03-2008, 09:45 PM
My PC just powered off without warning. When I rebooted, I started getting messages from PC Probe about Vcore voltage. On investigating, it is telling me that the voltage is 1.15 against a a nominal 1.33.

Having found this out, I have no idea (a) what it implies and (b) what I should be doing about it.

Any suggestions?

Edit: it just went back to 1.33 then immediately dropped again to 1.17, now back to 1.26, now 1.14...

Tony
29-03-2008, 10:14 PM
I'm now looking at Cool & Quiet, and that is showing my processor frequency changing in line with the vcore change. It is varying from 1000mhz @ vcore=1.16 to 2200 @ vcore=1.36.

So what's going on?

The_End_Of_Reality
29-03-2008, 10:29 PM
What CPU and Mobo do you have???? :rolleyes:

It is most likely a power saving feature (depending on the CPU) as a lot of the new (if not all new) CPUs will reduce the frequency and drop the vcore...

rawkus1020
29-03-2008, 10:40 PM
my q66oo is o/c to 3ghz and when its not under load it drops down to 2ghz and the voltage drops as well
so just open and app and watch if it changes with that
as the above comment says its the new power saving feature the newish cpus have

Deane F
29-03-2008, 11:07 PM
Yeah I wouldn't worry about the nominal voltage with Intel CPUs these days - my E6750 is stable at just over its supposed vcore of 1.35v and it's overclocked by nearly 600 MHz.

Also, a lot of motherboards have V-droop - you set the vcore coltage in BIOS and then CPU-Z will show you that the actual vcore is lower - and depending on the motherboard it can be quite a drop.

Tony
30-03-2008, 08:09 AM
After my knee-jerk reaction original post, I did a bit more research, and now understand about voltage drop and cool & quiet.

I'd still like to know why my PC suddenly powered off, though.