PDA

View Full Version : HDD reccomendations?



a helpless random
23-03-2008, 08:02 PM
hi my pc specs are

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4800+ (2.5GHZ)
2GB DDR2-800
512MB GDDR4 ATI Radeon HD2600XT
Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H MoBo
80GB WDC (Temp)
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 bit

as seen in signature.
as u can see i need new HDD but not sure on what hdd to go for.
im running vista with steam and 10 biggish steam games and BF2 and COD4.
im not lookin at spending much $.

If you have any reccomendations (size or type or specific HDD or whatever else) then they are all welcome, Thanks

jwil1
23-03-2008, 08:07 PM
Seagates are fairly inexpensive and have a 5-year warranty. Ascent have 250GB (http://ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=361756) HDs, SATA, 16MB cache for ~$105 each. My next rig will have 3 of them :)

You can get up to 1TB ones from SG I think...

If you can, buy a copy of XP and load that on there too. It is much faster than Vista and you can run it off a separate drive (your old 80gb one). It seems quite easy to set up a dual-boot between XP and Vista.http://apcmag.com/5485/dualbooting_vista_and_xp. Follow that (except don't worry about 'shrinking' the HD partition as you're installing it onto a different physical drive). and you should be sweet! A good use for that spare HD as well!!

EDIT: For the dual-boot, follow instructions from "Now install Windows XP". :)

LiquidSolidity
23-03-2008, 08:08 PM
I just got myself one of these: http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=360606

And am very happy with it. It is very quiet and fast :)

Sweep
23-03-2008, 08:23 PM
I would go for Seagate.

I have two 200 Gb seagate drives and bought a one Terabyte drive yesterday.

Do you have a SATA or IDE controller or both?

a helpless random
23-03-2008, 08:37 PM
ok, so what size do you reckon? 250gb seems good, then i could set up dual boot, vista on 250gb and xp on 80gb.

jwil1
23-03-2008, 08:42 PM
ok, so what size do you reckon? 250gb seems good, then i could set up dual boot, vista on 250gb and xp on 80gb.

How full is your 80 ATM? And how much data do you want to have on it (ie have you got stuff stored on external drives you want to put onto it)?

a helpless random
23-03-2008, 08:47 PM
ATM my 80gb has bout 10gb left but i hav held back on putting stuff on it and hav about 100gb of stuff from other pc and laptop thats on my external, i need to put that on. but there isnt much else that i need to install(maybe 10gb more) and im also looking at getting crysis(thats why i left about 10gb)

jwil1
23-03-2008, 08:50 PM
ATM my 80gb has bout 10gb left but i hav held back on putting stuff on it and hav about 100gb of stuff from other pc and laptop thats on my external, i need to put that on. but there isnt much else that i need to install(maybe 10gb more)

That's ~180GB. A 250 should do fine. But on the other hand if you're going to want to get more storage then get a larger capacity.

You may run into problems activating Vista on the new 250GB drive, because I think the license is tied to the hard drive, not the processor/mobo etc. Ringing MS should rectify that easily enough though.

The_End_Of_Reality
23-03-2008, 08:51 PM
Buy what ever size you want/need...

Me, I am getting 2 1TB HDDs this week :D

Alexhughes79
23-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Where are you getting crysis from? I need it? :)

a helpless random
23-03-2008, 08:56 PM
i think the hdd that jwil1 reccomended is good, does any one reccomend any 320gb hdds (personal experiance) because i would rather spend a little more $ then have to upgrade again in 6 months.

a helpless random
23-03-2008, 08:57 PM
Where are you getting crysis from? I need it? :)

probably from trademe or somewhere, not sure, ill decide when i have spare cash

jwil1
23-03-2008, 09:04 PM
i think the hdd that jwil1 reccomended is good, does any one reccomend any 320gb hdds (personal experiance) because i would rather spend a little more $ then have to upgrade again in 6 months.

I take it your mobo has SATA on it... Or else you're buying the HD with the wrong interface - if it doesn't youll need to buy an IDE model.

a helpless random
23-03-2008, 09:10 PM
yup it has sata

The_End_Of_Reality
23-03-2008, 09:12 PM
I have a 320GB SATA, nothing wrong with it...

a helpless random
23-03-2008, 09:19 PM
do you have its specs and is it still for sale somewhere?

Alexhughes79
23-03-2008, 09:20 PM
http://www.pricespy.co.nz/c_463.html?d=9774
PriceSpy details for retailer: PC OnLine Shop (Rainbow Technology Ltd)

a helpless random
23-03-2008, 09:23 PM
thanks alex but im looking for people who have had personal experiance or own the drive, i have had a look on pricespy, but thanks anyway

SPARTAN 860
23-03-2008, 09:45 PM
Crysis won't run well on a HD2600XT if you are going for highest detail. Try leaving out AA in crysis on high, you will find you framerates improve alot

Recommend a good hdd 1600Gb from western digital at 10000 rpm. Perfect for gaming, not so great for photo storage

a helpless random
24-03-2008, 09:36 AM
1600gb 10000rpm? does it even exist? if it does then its probably waay out of my price range

a helpless random
26-04-2008, 08:51 PM
Sorted, i got a Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Thanks every1

jwil1
27-04-2008, 11:05 AM
Good choice :punk

BTW are you dual-booting with XP??