PDA

View Full Version : Calling all experienced network managers - VPN

echothreezero
17-03-2008, 12:28 PM
Hi,

At my workplace we don't have an IT person. Because I was sick of watching my boss paying through the nose for the nearest IT company to travel 20mins to the office everytime a network switch needed rebooting, I kind of took on the IT role at the company additional to my normal duties. I have no training, just self-taught limited experience.

Cut to the chase - we want to set up a VPN so we can work from home. The IT manager at our parent company in Auckland tells us:

1) It is too expensive
2) It would take a lot of his time to implement
3) There is a significant security risk to manage
4) Our internet speed for workers at the office would be significantly impaired.

Can someone please confirm or deny this? I suspect that it is a little over his head (I am sceptical of his experience level) and is just bluffing out of doing it.

We have 8+ work stations, and a central file server running Business Server 2003. We have several applications that run on the server with client access. Networking is a star config running on a workgroup rather than a domain.

We would have a maximum of 3 employees working at home at any one time. Ideally they would be able to use the apps that have client access, but at the very least we would want them to have access to the file server.

I have no experience runing a VPN, but it doesn't seem as hard as the network manager makes out.

Cheers

Graham

CYaBro
17-03-2008, 12:46 PM
Well if it is Small Business Server 2003 then this has VPN / Remote Access built in. Only need to open a port on the router to allow VPN access.
Not very expensive at all.

It can be a security risk as you are allowing people's home computers onto your business network and you don't know what viruses etc may be on them.
Make sure anyone who wants to work from home as up-to-date antivirus software etc.