PDA

View Full Version : Norton



Richard
08-03-2008, 11:09 AM
Well, Wainuitech and others, you have finally persuaded me. This week I am going to clear Norton Internet Security and Norton Ghost from my system and install Eset NOD32. My Norton subscription expires today, so I guess this is the time to take the plunge. Are there any pitfalls I should be aware of? And can I assume that CCleaner and Registry Mechanic and Spybot will work just as usual.

I will remove Norton products by way of the Add/Remove facility in control panel, as I gather the downloadable removal tool is for use as a last resort. Is this right?

What should I replace Ghost with? I am backing up to a Maxtor external HDD.

bob_doe_nz
08-03-2008, 11:20 AM
Use the Norton removal tool as well as uninstalling. (Check the Nortons site about it)

wainuitech
08-03-2008, 11:20 AM
:clap You should be able to leave ghost alone and that works as normal.

If you run the removal tool it will take that out as well.

I will post back later today some instructions on advanced settings on Nod32.

Can't do it right now as I'm meant to be helping tidy the house :rolleyes: Just thought I'd sneek on here for a minute while the other half has ducked down to the shops ---- OOPS I hear her car

Richard
08-03-2008, 11:50 AM
Who's the boss in your house Wainui? Don't answer that, I think I know.

Ghost hasn't worked properly despite reinstalling several times. It is supposed to automatically drop off the oldest restore points as it updates the back-ups, but this hasn't happened. It just fills the hard drive then stops without any warning notices at all. Can you recommend a better back-up program?

wainuitech
08-03-2008, 12:02 PM
Who's the boss in your house Wainui? Don't answer that, I think I know.

Ghost hasn't worked properly despite reinstalling several times. It is supposed to automatically drop off the oldest restore points as it updates the back-ups, but this hasn't happened. It just fills the hard drive then stops without any warning notices at all. Can you recommend a better back-up program?

I'm the boss when I'm told I am :D Narrrrr Just said I would start the tidy up while she went to the shops - currently in the workshop putting things away ;)

Dump ghost then if its playing up.

Anyway - Several good free ones about - do you want to simply back up files/folders or whole drive ??

Synctoy (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=E0FC1154-C975-4814-9649-CCE41AF06EB7&displaylang=en) from Microsoft - that does a good job of backing up. Instructions on Use (http://www.pchell.com/support/synctoy.shtml) here from this site.

gary67
08-03-2008, 12:17 PM
I can vouch for synctoy I use it every day to back up to two flash drives every day, I use two because I don't trust just one. I find it great for files and folders and soo easy to use
:punk

beeswax34
08-03-2008, 02:09 PM
Are you going to pay for NOD32? You could just get Avast Home for free which is almost as good.

Richard
08-03-2008, 03:39 PM
Yep, probably going to fork out for NOD32 as I have heard such good reports about it, mostly on this forum. I will try out SyncToy as a backup tool, mostly will want backup of files & folders then regular incremental backups from there. Will I need to reformat the Maxtor drive to get rid of the Ghost traces? How do I do this?

Metla
08-03-2008, 03:54 PM
Personally, I'd format the sucker (The PC) just to ensure Nortons filth is removed entirely.

password
08-03-2008, 04:14 PM
just asking, is NOD 32 the best there is or is there better?

beeswax34
08-03-2008, 04:34 PM
just asking, is NOD 32 the best there is or is there better?

No, NOD32 is the best out there.

wainuitech
08-03-2008, 07:00 PM
NOD32 Setting to Alter

Once installed, open the program, down the bottom Left hand corner in tiny writing will be the wording Display Standard Mode (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Display_Mode_Standard.jpg) click that and set to Toggle Advanced Mode The on the Setup Button On the Left expand that, Click the Antivirus & Antispyware - then HERE (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Configure.jpg) are the 3 settings to change .

Next applies to all of those 3 items - click configure , Press the SETUP button up near the top right hand side ( you'll see it) then on Objects/options (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Objects.jpg) click each one in turn and put ticks in all boxes, on cleaning move the slider to the very RIGHT - click OK / OK and go back and do the other to two configurations. (exact same thing) You can ignore the other two ( Extensions / Other)

To set a scheduled scan - Expand TOOLS - Scheduler - Click the ADD BUTTON (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/tools.jpg) click the drop down box and select " On Demand Computer Scan" Call it what ever you want, select the time and dates you want to scan (easier to do than write it - follow the selections) When finished you will get This Box (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Magical_Snap_-_2008.03.08_18.48_-_010.jpg) along with any other drives you may have. Put Ticks in Highlighted boxes as per picture.

Click the SETUP button - you will then get the 3 options again as above Objects/options/cleaning - do the same as before - tick every thing, move the slider to far right. when finished click SAVE ( next to SETUP button) Close the windows - thats it :clap

NOTE: under the scheduler - you can alter the other update settings by right clicking them and selecting what you want.

Also if you look at the scheduled scan you can select network drives as well.

pctek
08-03-2008, 07:36 PM
NOD32 Setting to Alter


I go into Enter entire advanced setup and work my way down the list.........

wainuitech
08-03-2008, 07:43 PM
I go into Enter entire advanced setup and work my way down the list......... Can do - does the same thing.

The instructions were for the Antivirus only- they also have a Security package called ESS ,which has a few more functions as well as a built in firewall.

password
08-03-2008, 08:14 PM
lol is the smart security fine on the default setting?

wainuitech
08-03-2008, 08:21 PM
lol is the smart security fine on the default setting?
Basically the Smart Security (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/ESS.jpg) has the exact same Antivirus, so the settings are the same for that- in ESS you have a firewall & Antispam as well.

A Few Days ago I posted some suggested instructions on Setting up the Firewall (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=87818&page=2) Post 12 - If interested.

Richard
09-03-2008, 10:29 AM
Thanks for the guidance guys, I will explore all the settings once I have finally got rid of Norton/Symantec progs and installed NOD.
Thanks again. :thanks

Richard
11-03-2008, 10:34 AM
Well, I've done it. Stripped out all Norton/Symantec stuff and installed NOD32. Changed advanced settings as advised by wainuitech (thanks for that) and already I would swear that my machine is faster.
Only problem is that now I have the ads showing on this forum site, which Norton must have been blocking before. Without telling Jan or Chris how can I get back to having no ads?

Now to work on my back-up to replace Ghost. :thumbs: :thumbs:

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2008, 10:38 AM
Use firefox and install Adblock/Flashblock

Or use IEP7ro, if you use IE 6/7

mzee
12-03-2008, 06:46 PM
I have Norton Ghost 12, which is a bloated pig! Only use it on the odd occasion when nothing else works.

I use Acronis 11 which works very well. On some computers the boot disc freezes. If this happens do the following when making a boot disc:-

- Launch Acronis True Image 11 Home -> Tools -> Create Bootable Rescue Media -> Next -> Next -> Select Bootable media startup parameters. At Command line parameters type the following: "acpi=off noapic" (without quotes) -> Next -> Select your burning CD/DVD-ROM -> Next -> Proceed.