PDA

View Full Version : Front Page - how to get a web page to open in a new window?



stuffed
26-02-2008, 11:29 AM
Am not into web page stuff (the brain is full enough!) but a simple question when creating a web link in a page how do you get it to open in a new window?!
http://www.arrownet.co.nz/handy%20links.htm
Using Front Page 2003
Thanks

bevy121
26-02-2008, 12:04 PM
Find the hyperlink in your code and add this to it: target="_blank"

In other words, to make this one open in a new window


<a href="http://www.mywebsite_etc.com/> My web site! </a>

Add the target="_blank" attribute (with a space at the start)


<a href="http://www.mywebsite_etc.com/ target="_blank"> My web site! </a>



To do it in FrontPage when you are making the link, it is done like this
(I think - I dont use FrontPage myself)



1. Highlight the text you want to use as the hyperlink.

2. Press CTRL+K to open the "Add Hyperlink" window.

3. Create the hyperlink as usual. (Don't click OK when you are done.)

4. Click the "Target Frame..." button.

5. From the list of "Common targets", select "New Window".

6. FrontPage will automatically change the "Target setting" text box to "_blank".

7. Click OK.

8. Click OK.

bevy121
26-02-2008, 12:32 PM
BTW - I noticed you have some web pages with spaces in the names.

It's generaly good practice to not have spaces or strange characters in url's.

It can cause problems with things sometimes...

You'll notice the "%20" thats the browser automaticly has added - but not all programes handle the spaces as easily.

much better to use an underscore instead of a space.

So for instance your file named

"We are.htm" (with a space)
would be better as
"We_are.htm"

Of course, this is just suggestion - and spaces do seem to be handled much better than they were, but still have the potential to cause problems sometimes :)

stuffed
26-02-2008, 01:13 PM
Hi there and a huge thanks for this - guess never too old to learn!
Cheers

johcar
26-02-2008, 01:52 PM
BTW - I noticed you have some web pages with spaces in the names.

It's generaly good practice to not have spaces or strange characters in url's.

It can cause problems with things sometimes...

You'll notice the "%20" thats the browser automaticly has added - but not all programes handle the spaces as easily.

much better to use an underscore instead of a space.

So for instance your file named

"We are.htm" (with a space)
would be better as
"We_are.htm"

Of course, this is just suggestion - and spaces do seem to be handled much better than they were, but still have the potential to cause problems sometimes :)I assume that advice applies to filenames too?? Like embedded JPEGs or documents?

nofam
26-02-2008, 03:00 PM
I assume that advice applies to filenames too?? Like embedded JPEGs or documents?

Applies to database tables, and field alias's too - it's just good practice, as Bevy suggests :thumbs: