PDA

View Full Version : New LCD Monitor and Cabling needs - DVI

Kaypee
21-02-2008, 09:10 PM
I have just purchased a Samsung widescreen 22in LCD but the cable is not long enough for my needs. I have looked for an extension cable and been advised not to join but to get a single longer length...which I have done. The cable supplied with the monitor has (DVI) 18 pins in 2 blocks of 9 (3 rows of 3) with a gap in the middle....and a single wider pin on the right.
The cable sold to me has, however, 24 pins in 3 rows of 8 with the wider pin on the right. i.e. there are 6 extra pins in the middle of the original two blocks of 9. (Hope that's not too complicated).
Have I got the wrong cable - the dealer says they are 'all the same' but I am just learning this computer business and don't understand how two different connectors can be the same!!! Does the pin configuration give a different quality picture or something?? Maybe it has something to do with DVI-I and DVI-D and similar codes I have seen. Samsung say something about DVI-D??
Hope someone can put me on the right track - will be grateful. Thanks. Cheers. Kaypee

robbyp
21-02-2008, 09:24 PM
I have just purchased a Samsung widescreen 22in LCD but the cable is not long enough for my needs. I have looked for an extension cable and been advised not to join but to get a single longer length...which I have done. The cable supplied with the monitor has (DVI) 18 pins in 2 blocks of 9 (3 rows of 3) with a gap in the middle....and a single wider pin on the right.
The cable sold to me has, however, 24 pins in 3 rows of 8 with the wider pin on the right. i.e. there are 6 extra pins in the middle of the original two blocks of 9. (Hope that's not too complicated).